The ground will be shaking at New Smyrna Speedway Monday night when the Tour-type Modifieds begin five straight nights of racing during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  We take a look at the history of the Mighty Modifieds at New Smyrna in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


1: Doug Coby makes his way south to Florida Speedweeks with only one prior start, but with the goal of running well and adding to his legacy.  Coby, a five-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, is looking to get a jumpstart on 2019 and get back to championship form.


5: Matt Hirschman, and Jimmy Blewett each have two wins in the Richie Evans Memorial 100. Ryan Preece picked up his third win in the race last year.  Ted Christopher holds the record with five career wins in the longest race of the week for Tour-type Modifieds.


9: The late Ted Christopher has nine championships in the Tour-Type Modified class. He won three straight titles at one point and four in a row as well.


10: Ryan Preece picked up his 10th career World Series win on the final night last year.  Preece will only be racing three of the five nights this seasons as NASCAR Cup Series obligations will have him at Daytona for the end of the week.


33: It took Patrick Emerling 33 starts to score his first win at the World Series. Emerling was one of two first-time winners in 2018 after Jon McKennedy won on opening night.


43: Ted Christopher is the all-time wins leader with 43 in the Tour-type Modifieds.  His wins came over the course of 18 seasons.


51%: From what we can tell, the late Richie Evans won 39 of his 76 races in a nine-year span.  That’s a winning percentage of 51%.  We are not sure if he ran every night before his death, but if he did that’s an incredible winning percentage.


61: A total of 61 different drivers have won Tour-Type Modified races during the World Series.


65: Chuck Hossfeld has made 65 consecutive starts in the Tour-type Modified class.  We believe that he has over 100 starts and a dozen wins.


82: By our records, Jimmy Zacharias has 82 starts at the World Series between the old SK Mods class and the Tour-type division. His total could be higher as we are still working on our historical records.


76: On Wednesday night, the Tour-type Mods will run the annual 76-lap feature to honor John Blewett III. Below is a list of the former winners of the event.  Ron Silk and Eric Goodale have each won it twice.


Blewett Memorial 76 Winners 

2018 Matt Hirschman

2017 Ryan Preece

2016 Eric Goodale

2015 Eric Goodale

2014 Ron Silk

2013 Woody Pitkat

2012 Rain

2011 Earl Paules

2010 Ted Christopher

2009 Ron Silk

2008 Jimmy Blewett


The Prestige of The Richie Evans Memorial: The final night of the Modified week is the annual Richie Evans race. Evans was a master in a Modified and a king at New Smyrna in February.  Having won over 50% of his races, it’s safe to say that no one will ever be like him in any level of short track racing.


Richie Evans Memorial Winners

2018 Ryan Preece (3)

2017 Matt Hirschman (2)

2016 Ryan Preece (2)

2015 Ryan Preece

2014 Justin Bonsignore

2013 Ron Silk

2012 Eric Goodale

2011 Ted Christopher (5)

2010 Matt Hirschman

2009 Ted Christopher (4)

2008 Eric Bears

2007 Jimmy Blewett (2)

2006 Jimmy Blewett

2005 Donny Lia

2004 John Blewett

2003 Tim Arre

2002 Robbie Summers

2001 Jamie Tomaino

2000 Ted Christopher (3)

1999 Dave Berghman

1998 Jan Leaty

1997 Ted Christopher (2)

1996 Rick Fuller (2)

1995 Steve Park (2)

1994 Ted Christopher

1993 Steve Park

1992 Rick Fuller

1991 Mike Ewanitsko

1990 Jay Hedgecock

1989 Tom Baldwin

1988 Tony Jankowiak

1987 Jimmy Spencer

1986 Mike Casterline


Double Digit Winners in Tour-Type Modifieds

Ted Christopher 43

Richie Evans 39

Reggie Ruggerio 28

Rick Fuller 16

Tom Baldwin 14

Chuck Hossfeld 12

Ryan Preece 10


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Tour-type Modified at New Smyrna WS