The Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco kicks off its 2017 campaign with the Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway on Sunday, but that isn’t the only big race of the weekend at the home of the Rattlesnake Rodeo.  The Pro Late Models go at it for 125 laps on Saturday night in what has become known as the “Baby Rattler.” We here at powered by JEGS decided to go in-depth into the Baby Rattler’s den in our By the Numbers.


2: Some drivers like Casey Roderick, Jeff Choquette, Steve Dorer, and Chandler Smith will be running both races at South Alabama Speedway.


300x250 Rattler PPV 2017(2)6: Bubba Pollard has three wins in the Baby Rattler, but what’s more impressive is the fact that he’s got six finishes on the podium in the race.  He’s been at least third every season since 2011.  He was battling for the win before he got turned by Justin South on the final lap a year ago.


12: This year will be the 12th running of the Pro Rattler 125.


27: The race had 27 entries as of the early part of this week.


33%:  Pollard’s average winning percentage in the Baby Rattler.  He’s won the race three times including two of the last three runnings.  They are not entered in this years race.


156: Total number of drivers who have competed in the Baby Rattler.


145: Korey Ruble who has two wins and three seconds in the race has led 145 laps in the show, which includes over 100 in the last three years combined.


2006: Was the first year of the Baby Rattler and David Hole took the win.  Ironically, he only ever ran the race one more time in 2008 and finished 12th.  The race has been run on Sunday a few times with the 250 thanks to rainouts.  In those years the race was shortened to 100-laps.


Pro Late Model Guns:  This will be the first big square-off the season with Casey Roderick who has won three races in a row pro late model action. Defending Pro Rattler winner Stephen Nasse, two-time winner Korey Ruble, and veterans Justin South and Brandon Odom will balance out the early favorites.


Sanders Racing: Ronnie Sanders is the only three-time winner of the Rattler 250.  He and his Pro Late Model team have not been a part of the 250 for a few years.  Sanders has since switched to the Pro ranks where he has won and taken several podium finishes.  They won the pole a year ago with Casey Roderick, but fell out early.

DQ: This race has had a rash of disqualifications among the top drivers.  Steven Davis in 2008, Augie Grill in 2009, Bubba Pollard in 2010, and Justin South in 2013 had their finishes washed out in the tech line.  Davis and Grill were winners who lost the win in the tech line.

Past Winners

2016 Stephen Nasse

2015 Bubba Pollard

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Korey Ruble

2012 Augie Grill

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Korey Ruble

2009 Bubba Pollard

2008 Ryan Crane

2007 Ronnie Sanders

2006 David Hole


-By Elgin Traylor, Contributor

-Photo Credit: Nuttleman

By the Numbers: The Baby Rattler 125 at South Alabama Speedway