CONCORD, N.C. — The 2015 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series season has officially drawn to a close. The historic season saw Donny Schatz add his name to the record books and join some of the most elite names in the history of motorsports.


Through 75 races, 2015 is a season no one will soon forget. These are the numbers that defined the year.


544 – The difference in points between championship winner Donny Schatz and second place finisher Shane Stewart. It is the biggest end-of-season points differential between the top-two drivers since Steve Kinser’s 31-win season in 1992. In 2005 Kinser picked up his final series championship by a margin of 543 points over Jason Meyers.


204 – The total number of World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series feature wins Donny Schatz has won in his career. He is the third winningest driver in series history. Three-time series champion Sammy Swindell is ahead of Schatz with 294 wins.


178 – The streak of races Donny Schatz has without a DNF. The streak dates back to September 2013.


75 – The total number of completed features during the season. Events were run in 23 U.S. States and two Canadian provinces. There were 11 rain outs during the season with three events postponed due to rain.


31 – Donny Schatz’s win total in 2015 tied him with Steve Kinser for the third-most single season series wins. Kinser accomplished the feat in 1992. The ‘King of the Outlaws’ continues to hold the record for the most single-season wins (46 in 1987) and second most single-season wins (36 in 1991).


22 – The number of different drivers who won a World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series feature during the 2015 season. The total continues a now four year trend for the series with the total number of different winners over 20. The last time there were fewer than 20 different winners was 2011 when there were 17 different winners.


7 – The number of championships Donny Schatz now has following his historic season. He joins motorsports greats like Richard Petty (NASCAR), Dale Earnhardt (NASCAR), Michael Schumacher (F1) and Jeremy McGrath (AMA) with seven championships in their respective racing series.


3 – Stewart Friesen, Greg Wilson and Dusty Zomer became first-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series winners in 2015. Friesen had the added distinction of being just the second-ever Canadian born driver to win a series event and the first ever to win on Canadian soil.


The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series returns to action and kicks off the 2016 season at DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park February 12 to 14, 2016. The full series schedule will be released during the Performance Racing Industry show on Thursday, December 10.



The following World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:
Jacob Allen –
David Gravel –
Jason Johnson –
Kraig Kinser –
Kerry Madsen –
Paul McMahan –
Daryn Pittman –
Joey Saldana –
Donny Schatz –
Logan Schuchart –
Jason Sides –
Shane Stewart –
Brad Sweet –
For more driver information, visit:


SEASON WINNERS: Donny Schatz – 31 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Stockton Dirt Track on March 21, Silver Dollar Speedway on March 28, Placerville Speedway on April 8, Calistoga Speedway on April 12, Devil’s Bowl Speedway on April 26, Eldora Speedway on May 8, Eldora Speedway on May 9, Williams Grove Speedway on May 15, Weedsport Speedway on May 17, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on May 22, Knoxville Raceway on June 13, Huset’s Speedway on June 14, Granite City Speedway on June 17, River Cities Speedway on June 19, Dakota State Fair Speedway on June 20, Beaver Dam Raceway on June 27, Lakeside Speedway on July 1, Dodge City Raceway Park on July 4, Cedar Lake Speedway on July 11, Lebanon Valley Speedway on July 26, Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on Aug. 8, Knoxville Raceway on Aug. 15, River Cities Speedway on Aug. 21, Nodak Speedway on Aug. 23, Castrol Raceway on Aug. 28, Grays Harbor Raceway on Sept. 7, Cottage Grove Speedway on Sept. 9, Silver Dollar Speedway on Sept. 12, Berlin Raceway on Sept. 26, Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on Oct. 11); Shane Stewart – 9 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5, Keller Auto Speedway on April 17, Salina Highbanks Speedway on May 1, Crawford County Speedway on June 12, Eldora Speedway on July 17, Eldora Speedway on July 18, Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on Aug. 8, Skagit Speedway on Sept. 5, Silver Dollar Speedway on Sept. 11); Daryn Pittman – 5(Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 13, Antioch Speedway on March 29, New Egypt Speedway on May 19, Castrol Raceway on Aug. 29, Antioch Speedway on Sept. 13); Brad Sweet – 5 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, Calistoga Speedway on April 11, I-96 Speedway on June 25, Deer Creek Speedway on Sept. 19, Port Royal Speedway on Oct. 24); Paul McMahan – 3 (Perris Auto Speedway on April 18, Tri-State Speedway on May 3, Lawrenceburg Speedway on Oct. 16); Joey Saldana – 3 (Kokomo Speedway on June 3, Cedar Lake Speedway on July 12, The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Nov. 8); Rico Abreu – 2 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14, Stockton Dirt Track on March 22); Dale Blaney – 2(Attica Raceway Park on May 29, Lernerville Speedway on July 21); Stevie Smith – 2 (Williams Grove Speedway on July 25, Williams Grove Speedway on Oct. 4);Christopher Bell – 1 (Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on May 2);Brian Brown – 1 (USA Raceway on March 7);Cody Darrah – 1 (Lernerville Speedway on July 21);Danny Dietrich – 1(Williams Grove Speedway on July 25); Stewart Friesen – 1 (Ohsweken Speedway on July 28);Greg Hodnett – 1(Lincoln Speedway on May 13);Tim Kaeding – 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 13); Danny Lasoski – 1 (I-80 Speedway on June 5); Kerry Madsen – 1 (Junction Motor Speedway on Aug. 18); Terry McCarl – 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5); Jason Sides – 1 (Dodge City Raceway Park on July 3); Greg Wilson – 1(Eldora Speedway on Sept. 25); Dusty Zomer – 1 (The Dirt Track at Charlotte on Nov. 6).


-World of Outlaws Press Release. Photo credit:Daryl Canfield/

By the Numbers: The 2015 Outlaws Season That Was