The final major Late Model Stock Car race of the season will be held Sunday with the Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National Motorsports Park (NC).  The Late Model Stock Cars will be joined by Super Late Models for a full day of racing.  We get you ready for the event in this edition of “By the Numbers.”


2: Only Jamey Caudill and Denny Hamlin have won this race more than once. They each have two wins. Additionally, Caudill has five top-five runs in the race.


12: There will be 12 feature events throughout the three days of racing action.


12: Deac McCaskill has 12 starts in the classic and has visited victory lane once. He has six top-five finishes and six top 10s.


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)88: We wonder if we will see Josh Berry after he picked up the win at Myrtle Beach one week ago.  That’s a great way for the CARS Tour champion to end the season, but there is still one more race to win. Berry finished 24th last year.


125: Super Late Models will have a 125-lap feature on Sunday.


200: The Late Model Stock Car race is 200 laps on Sunday.


645:  Matt McCall has completed all 645 laps he has run at the Thanksgiving Classic.  He has finishes of second, third and 10th.


Heavy Hitters: Layne Riggs, Philip Morris and Matt McCall are some of the big names getting ready for the weekend.  We can imagine that some teams are burning the midnight oil to get ready for this weekend after Myrtle Beach last weekend.


Track Champion: Mason Diaz will look to win the season finale after winning the track’s Late Model Stock title.  Diaz had five wins during the 2017 season.


How much?: The amount a driver pays for their entry fee determines how much money they win in the Late Model Stock feature.  A $125 entry fee will win $6,000 if a driver paying that amount wins the race.  Paying $1,000 for an entry fee will earn a driver $20,000 for a victory.  Check out the track’s website for more information.


Late Model Stock Winners

2016 Tommy Lemons Jr.

2015 Lee Pulliam

2014 Brayton Haws

2013 Ronnie Bassett Jr.

2012 Greg Edwards

2011 Not Run

2010 Not Run

2009 Not Run

2008 Joey Coulter

2007 Denny Hamlin

2006 Deac McCaskill

2005 Jamey Caudill

2004 Jamey Caudill

2003 Denny Hamlin

2002 Brandon Butler

2001 Kirk Leone

2000 Frank Deiny, Jr.

1999 Scott Riggs

1998 Philip Morris


Super Late Models 

2016 Christian Eckes

2015 Brandon Setzer

2014 Not Run

2013 Not Run

2012 Preston Peltier


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Andy Marquis/SNMP

By the Numbers: Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National