Since 1968 the Super Late Models have entertained race fans attending the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway.  Names such as Dick Trickle, Junior Hanley and Mark Martin entertained short track racing fans throughout the year and paved the way for a new generation of stars such as Steve Wallace, Ty Majeski and Zane Smith.


With the 50th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing getting underway Friday evening,’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the history of the Super Late Model division “by the numbers.”


2 – Harrison Burton scored two wins during Speedweeks one year ago, which was the most in a Super Late Model class that was loaded with talent with the likes of Ty Majeski, Chris Bell, Steve Wallace, Dave Garbo Jr. and eventual champion Zane Smith.


graphic smyrna world series18 – Crafty veteran David Rogers has 18 wins at New Smyrna Speedway in the Super Late Model class.


35 – The nightly Super Late Model races will be 35 laps.  They will go 50 laps on the Tuesday racing card and will compete in a 100-lap race on Saturday night.


47 – Junior Hanley is the all-time winner when it comes to wins at Speedweeks in the Super Late Model class. Hanley won 14 times in between 1990 and 1991.  His years of racing stretched from the 70’s to four decades later where he was still winning races.  Only a few drivers, like Ted Christopher, have more more races across the board in Speedweeks action.


70 – Number of known different winners in Super Late Model action at New Smyrna Speedway during the World Series.  We are missing data information from the early years, but have all winner back into the 70’s.  No one has ever swept a Super Late Model series over five races.  Junior Hanley took seven of eight in 1990.


77 – Zane Smith will be back to defend his Super Late Model championship.  The chances are good he will be in contention each night, but it would be truly impressive if he could repeat as champion against such a talented field.


91 – If there was a car number to keep an eye it would be the No. 91.  Ty Majeski won the long-haul Florida Governor’s Cup 200 last year and he was on the podium at the Snowball Derby.  In a short race his team has been just as good.  He logged four top-10 finishes a year ago including a win.


309+ – Our record show there have been over 300 Super Late Model races.  We are still working to find some of the early years of the racing history.


Talented Class: Former champion Zane Smith leads an all-star class that includes Florida Governor’s Cup 200 winner Ty Majeski, multi-time Speedweeks winner Stephen Nasse, Harrison Burton, former Speedweeks champion David Rogers, rookie Tyler Antrum, Derek Thorn, Southern Super Series rookie of the year Garrett Jones and several others.


Top 10 Winners

1) Junior Hanley 47

2) Gary Balough 21

3) David Rogers 18

4) Dick Trickle 17

5) Jeff Choquette 15

6) Mike Eddy 13

7) Wayne Anderson 9

Dick Anderson 9

9) Pete Orr 8

Kyle Benjamin 8

David Russell 8

Butch Miller 8


Past Champions

2015 Zane Smith

2014 Steve Wallace

2013 Ryan Moore

2012 Kyle Benjamin

2011 Tim Russell

2010 BJ McLeod

2009 David Rogers

2008 Jeff Choquette

2007 Jeff Scofield

2006 Travis Kittleson

2005 Louis Mechalides

2004 Mike Fritts

2003 Wayne Anderson

2002 Jimmy Cope

2001 David Rogers

2000 Wayne Anderson

1999 David Rogers

1998 Jason Shuler

1997 Lowell Bennett

1996 David Russell

1995 Bruce Lawrence

1994 Pete Orr

1993 Pete Orr

1992 Pete Orr

1991 Dick Anderson

1990 Junior Hanley

1989 Frank Wood

1988 Joe Shear

1987 David Rogers

1986 Dick Trickle

1985 Dick Trickle

1984 Dick Trickle

1983 Mark Malcuit

1982 Dick Trickle

1981 Junior Hanley

1980 Junior Hanley

1979 Mike Miller

1978 Mark Martin

1977 Mike Eddy

1976 Freddy Fryar

1975 Pete Hamilton

1974 Pete Hamilton

1973 Larry Rogero

1972 Joe Rutman

1971 Gary Balough

1970 Randy Tissot

1969 Dave McInnis

1968 Tom Pistone

1967 None


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Super Late Models at Smyrna World Series