One of the most popular divisions at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing each year is the Super Late Model division.  In this edition of “By the Numbers” on, we take a look at the history of the division during Florida Speedweeks.


0: Travis Braden has never made a start at New Smyrna Speedway, but the former Winchester 400 winner is expected to do well on the Smyrna high banks beginning Monday. Braden will skip the first two nights of racing as he focuses on his ARCA efforts at Daytona.


17: There have been 17 different champions in the last 17 World Series at New Smyrna. Several drivers have been dominant at times but no repeat champions have surfaced.


41: Anthony Sergi is another of the Florida local drivers who will be one to watch come World Series weekend.  Sergi is winless in 41 Super Late Model starts on his home track during Florida Speedweeks, but that comes from the high level of competition coming to town.


48: Junior Hanley is the all-time wins leader with 48 at the World Series in Super Late Model action.


55: David Rogers holds almost every record at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) and even in the World Series.  Rogers heads into the 2019 season with 55 starts in this decade, which is more then any other driver. However, Rogers will not race this year and Bubba Pollard will pilot the famous No. 11 ride.


71: According to our records, there have been 71 different drivers to win Super Late Model races during Speedweeks.


74: Ryan Moore lives for Speedweeks, and the veteran Super Late Model driver is fresh off his Red Eye 50 win in January. Moore is a champion and five-time winner during the World Series.


76: Spencer Davis has made a total of 76 career starts across four divisions at the World Series and that does not include his NASCAR K&N Pro Series East starts.  Davis will be competing in the Super Late Model division this year, as well as Sunday’s K&N East race.  He also has previous starts in Pro Late Models and Tour-Type Modifieds.


100: The final race of the week will be a 100-lap Super Late Model event on Saturday, February 16 that decides the week-long champion.


Recent 100-Lap Speedweeks Winners

2018 Harrison Burton
2017 Jeff Choquette
2016 Ty Majeski
2015 Christopher Bell
2014 Kyle Benajmin
2013 Travis Cope
2012 Travis Cope
2011 Wayne AndersonÂ
2010 Jeff Choquette
2009 David Rogers
2008 Jeff Choquette
2007 Jeff Scofield
2006 Travis Kittleson
2005 Jeff Scofield
2004 Rain
2003 Scott Hantz
2002 Junior Hanley


Good Matchup: Carson Kvapil will be working with Toby Nuttleman and the team that Ty Majeski has taken to victory lane many times over the last few years.


Calling It: We don’t toot out own horn often at, but we said SpeedFest winner Connor Okrzesik was ready for a breakout year. We also had Derek Griffith on that list as well and Speedweeks could be his place to shine.


Fast History of the Super Late Models at the World Series

1986: Dick Trickle wins his third-straight title and fourth overall, which is the all-time record.


1991: At the end of the 1991 World Series, many had seen enough of Junior Hanley who won his 14th race in the last two World Series. Despite all his wins, he only won the title twice as the title comes down to consistent finishes.


2002: Junior Hanley won the 100-lap race for the Super Late Models for the fifth time in his career.


2011: Tim Russell wins the Speedweeks title to become the second father-son team to win championships at Speedweeks.  His dad David Russell won in 1996.  Also Dick and Wayne Anderson have pulled off the same feat.


All-Time Super Late Model Winners

Junior Hanley 48

Gary Balough 21

David Rogers 18

Jeff Choquette 17

Dick Trickle 16

Mike Eddy 13

Wayne Anderson 9

Dick Anderson 9

Pete Orr 8

Kyle Benjamin 8

David Russell 8

Butch Miller 8



Stephen Nasse 6

Ryan Moore 5


Past Champions

2018 Stephen Nasse
2017 Harrison Burton
2016 Ty Majeski
2015 Zane Smith
2014 Steve Wallace
2013 Ryan Moore
2012 Kyle Benjamin
2011 Tim Russell
2010 BJ McLeod
2009 David Rogers
2008 Jeff Choquette
2007 Jeff Scofield
2006 Travis Kittleson
2005 Louis Mechalides
2004 Mike Fritts
2003 Wayne Anderson
2002 Jimmy Cope
2001 David Rogers
2000 Wayne Anderson
1999 David Rogers
1998 Jason Shuler
1997 Lowell Bennett
1996 David Russell
1995 Bruce Lawrence
1994 Pete Orr
1993 Pete Orr
1992 Pete Orr
1991 Dick AndersonÂ
1990 Junior Hanley
1989 Frank Wood
1988 Joe Shear
1987 David Rogers
1986 Dick Trickle
1985 Dick Trickle
1984 Dick Trickle
1983 Mark Malcuit
1982 Dick Trickle
1981 Junior Hanley
1980 Junior Hanley
1979 Mike Miller
1978 Mark Martin
1977 Mike Eddy
1976 Freddy Fryar
1975 Pete Hamilton
1974 Pete Hamilton
1973 Larry Rogero
1972 Joe Rutman
1971 Gary Balough
1970 Randy Tissot
1969 Dave McInnis
1968 Tom Pistone


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Super Late Models at New Smyrna WS