Cross flags are in the air for the Super DIRTcar Series 2016 season.  With the series completing it’s 13th points-counting event of the season at Autodrome Granby (QC) on Wednesday night, 13 events (14 races) remain.’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the first half of the Super DIRTcar Series season “by the numbers.”


3 – A total of three drivers will be inducted into the Northeast Dirt Modified Hall of Fame the night before the Hall of Fame 100.  The induction ceremony takes place on Monday, August 8, while the Hall of Fame 100 at Weedsport Speedway (NY) will be held on Tuesday, August 9. The event is free and open to the public. Drivers who are being inducted into the Hall of Fame are Billy Pauch, Jeff Heotzler, and Don Diffendorf. Other inductees who are being noticed for their work in the racing industry are Eugene Mills, Bob Dini, Marty Beberwyk, George Caruso Jr. and Theresa Rogers.


3: The Super DIRTcar Series will visit Weedsport Speedway three times over a six-week stretch in August and September.


Dirt Mods 300x300 (1)5: Matt Sheppard is chasing his fifth championship in the series after he took the honors for a fourth time last year. If he wins it will be five of the last seven championships.  In 2014, he was second in the standings, just six points away from another title.


8: It had been eight years since Frank Cozze last won in a Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modified. On Tuesday night at Autodrome Drummond (QC), Cozze proved that he still has what it takes, charging from his 19th starting position to take the victory.


10: The record for most wins in a season, and it’s held by two drivers. Brett Hearn in 2002 and Billy Decker in 2008 each won 10 times. Decker won the title, but Hearn fell short despite his win total.  Now Matt Sheppard seeks the high number with five wins at the halfway mark, but the competition level makes it hard to think anyone could win that many races.  We will have our eyes on him.


14: There are 14 dates remaining on the 2016 Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modified schedule.  The series will visit New York, North Carolina and even parts of Canada.


16:  A total of 16 championships are represented among the top 10 drivers in points.  Looking at the list Brett Hearn has eight, Matt Sheppard has four, Billy Decker has three and Tim Fuller has one title.


20: The driver of the No. 20 has eight championships and keeps on winning.  Ageless Brett Hearn already has a win this season to push his total to 121 career wins in a Big-Block Modified. His lone victory this season came at Volusia Speedway Park where he charged from 21st to the win and took his 23rd career win at the track.


27j: “The Doctor” Danny Johnson is long over due for a win.  The two-time Dirt Track at Charlotte winner would like to not have to wait until November for his next win.  His five top-five runs this season include a second and a third-place finish.


28: Matt Sheppard has seven wins (including exhibitions) this season and he leads the points by eight markers over Stewart Friesen in the most updated points following Tuesday’s event at Autodrome Drummond.


44: Last year he had five wins and this year the No. 44 car has already picked up three wins, but the driver Stewart Friesen is still yet to win a championship despite a total of 10 career wins. Perhaps this will be the year.


159: As of July 27, a total of 159 drivers had earned points this season in the Super DIRTcar Series.


300: The number of laps they will run at Oswego Speedway (NY) for the Super DIRT Week XLV in November.  The race, normally 200 laps, has previously extended to 203, but 300 will be an event record.  The race was first run in 1972 and Buzzie Reutimann was the winner.


$35,300: That’s the money won by Stewart Friesen (as of July 27) who is second in points.  It’s not the most, but it just shows what these guys are racing for each week and how it can add up quickly.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Photos


By the Numbers: Super DIRTcar Series at Halfway Mark