After two straight days of rainouts at Volusia Speedway Park (FL), the Big-Block Modifieds from the Northeast are ready to pound the dirt Friday evening.  With a few days away from the track due to the rain, our staff at decided to take a “by the numbers” look at the history of the Super DIRTcar Series at the DIRTcar Nationals.


3: Matt Sheppard heads to Florida with three career DIRTcar Nationals championships, and one more would tie him for second all-time with Danny Johnson.  He is tied for ninth on the all-time list in wins with five.


4: The “Beasts of the Northeast” will run two straight nights of racing — February 24 and February 25 — at Volusia Speedway Park. They were originally scheduled for four nights of racing action.


Dirt Mods 300x300 (1)11: It’s been 11 years since the Big-Block Modifieds have had a champion go back-to-back.  Brett Hearn last accomplished the feat, winning championships in 2005 and 2006. There have been a lot of different drivers in the mix and some drivers have won two championships or more, but back-to-back is a rare feat.


24: Brett Hearn is the all-time winner in Florida with 24 wins and a total of seven championships. He won one race last year, the Saturday finale, after starting deep in the field.


34: Pat Ward ended a 34-race winless streak to score his first Big-Block win at Voluisa Speedway in 2009. He would not have to wait long as he won the next night and won the four-night championship.


50: The final night of racing will feature a 50-lap feature.  After the race, the”big gator” championship will be awarded.


2016:  One year ago, the four-night series saw four races and four different winners.


Information compiled by series staff and advanced by’s staff for the recent years.



*DIRTcar-sanctioned events.


*2016 Matt Sheppard

*2015 Larry Wight

*2014 Stewart Friensen

*2013 Danny Johnson

*2012 Matt Sheppard

*2011 Stewart Friensen

*2010 Matt Sheppard

*2009 Pat Ward

*2008 Brett Hearn

*2007 Danny Johnson

*2006 Brett Hearn

*2005 Brett Hearn

*2004 Pat Ward

*2003 Tim Fuller

*2002 Brett Hearn

*2001 Brett Hearn

*2000 Brett Hearn

*1999 Jimmy Horton

*1998 Brett Hearn

1996-97 -no races-

*1995 Doug Hoffman

1994 -no races-

*1993 -Invitational-

1990-92 -no races-

*1989 Alan Johnson

1988 Danny Johnson

*1987 Danny Johnson

*1986 Jimmy Horton

1985 Billy Pauch

1984 Kenny Brightbill

*1983 Alan Johnson

*1982 Jeff Kappesser

*1981 Jack Johnson

*1980 Kenny Brightbill

1979 -no races-

1978 Walt Breeding



(135 events / 5 tracks / 39 drivers) 


24 Brett Hearn

13 Danny Johnson

9 Kenny Brightbill

8 Doug Hoffman

7 Stewart Friensen

6 Jack Johnson

6 Jimmy Horton

6 Tim Fuller

5 Billy Pauch

5 Matt Sheppard

3 Merv Treichler

3 Doug Ingalls

3 Jamie Mills

3 Rick Laubach

2 Will Cagle

2 Tommy Hager

2 Gary Iulg

2 Jeff Kappesser

2 Kenny Tremont

2 Bob McCreadie

2 Billy Decker

2 Pat Ward

2 Alan Johnson

1 Lou Lazzaro

1 Walt Breeding

1 Kevin Collins

1 Ray Dalmata

1 C.D. Coville

1 Richie Tobias Jr.

1 Jeff Heotzler

1 Steve Paine

1 Tim McCreadie

1 Craig VonDohren

1 J.R. Heffner

1 Andy Bachetti

1 Dale Planck

1 Rob Bellinger

1 Justin Hears

1 Neal Williams


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Super DIRTcar Series at DIRTcar Nationals