By the Numbers: SSS Championship Race at New Smyrna

This weekend, the Southern Super Series will crown its 2019 champion at a new venue.  The series is making its maiden voyage to New Smyrna Speedway (FL) for the Hart to Heart 100 on Sunday, October 20.  To preview the season finale, our Elgin Traylor takes a look “By the Numbers” at the Southern Super Series season and some names to watch this weekend.


2: Casey Roderick could be on the verge of becoming the first driver to win two Southern Super Series titles.  Roderick enters the season finale with a 15-point lead over Conner Okrzesik who is chasing his first title. Okrzesik would be the first Alabama driver to win the SSS title.


7: There have been seven different winners in nine races this season with the Southern Super Series. Only Giovanni Bromante and Bubba Pollard have scored wins on multiple occasions.


9: Defending race winner Brad May will be wanting to repeat, but he’s also got another title to win.  May is looking to lock up the 2019 New Smyrna Speedway track championship.  He has five wins and one more would be nice to add to the trophy pile.


10: This will be the 10th different track to host a Southern Super Series race. It will also be the 30th SSS race to be held in Florida.


26: Normally a driver of number 26, Bubba Pollard will be chasing SSS win number 26 in another ride.  Pollard will again drive for David Rogers who is still recovering from medical conditions from this spring.


54: Some drivers may be using this race as a tune up for the 54th Annual Florida Governor’s Cup 200.  The historic race will be held on November 9th.


86: This will be the 86th race for the Southern Super Series and the first at New Smyrna Speedway.


392: Fresh off a dominating show where he led 392 laps at the Winchester 400, Stephen Nasse is coming back home to try and do it in the Hart to Heart 100. He’s a multi-time winner at New Smyrna in several classes.


Clash of the Titans:  Looking at the entry list you can see some of the best from Super Late Model racing.  Already this year Bubba Pollard, Stephen Nasse, Matt Craig, Giovanni Bromante and local driver Brad May have had great seasons.  What will Saturday night bring?


SSS Past Champions


2018 Casey Roderick

2017 Stpehen Nasse

2016 Donnie Wilson

2015 Casey Smith

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Daniel Hemric


SSS Finale Winners


2018 Stephen Nasse – Mobile

2017 Bubba Pollard – Five Flags

2016 Bubba Pollard – Five Flags

2015 Bubba Pollard – Five Flags

2014 Daniel Hemric – Mobile

2013 Chase Elliott – All American 400


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: SSS Championship Race at New Smyrna