One of the biggest Pro Late Model races in the country will take place Saturday night at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida.  The Snowflake 100 has become a prelude to Sunday’s Snowball Derby.  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the race “by the numbers.”


4: The race is a four-tire event. In years past it was a six-tire race, but the tires and the track have been conditioned since then.


18: Number of drivers who are scheduled to run both races according to the entry lists.  That will likely change before we get to Saturday.  Teams will decide not to run one car or the other, but that number is one of the highest we have seen in years.





22: What more can we expect out of Justin South?  The two-time Snowflake pole sitter will be in the No. 22 mount for this years 100-lap event.  South has led lots of laps and posted a third in the Flake, but now we are looking to see if he can get that first big win.


26: The No. 26 ride of Bubba Pollard has a win and two podium finishes in his 10 prior starts.  He sat out in 2012, but will be back again for more this year.


70: The average car count for this race in the last 10 years is just north of 70.  It’s peak was 2007 when 91 names were on the entry list. that year 68 drivers took time.  The race is always a popular tune up for the Snowball Derby.


100: It’s one race for 100 laps.  There really is no holding back in this sprint event.


284: Augie Grill has led 284 laps in the Snowflake 100 and has two wins to show for it. He has dominated the race and even fell on his own car in victory lane one year.


403: A total of 403 drivers have run the Allen Turner Snowflake 100 over the years.  Each year there are new faces to run the big show.


2013: The last time that the race, as a Pro Late Model event, was won from the pole.  Itt was done by Chase Elliott. Stanley Smith won it as a SLM tuneup in 2001.


Dang Nice to See You Cole: If Vegas had odds on a driver with the name Cole winning, you  may have a pretty good chance.  Cole Anderson, Cole Butcher and Cole Drafton are all entered.  Along with that, two more Coles are in the Snowball Derby, Cole Moore and Cole Rouse.  Don’t swing a dead cat in the infield, you are bound to hit a driver named Cole.


The Name is Dalton:  Like Cole, Dalton is not a common name to just throw around in the pit area this week.  Dalton Armstrong, Dalton Grindle and Dalton Sergeant will all be racing Derby weekend.  Only Grindle is running the Snowflake.


Track Champions: The track champions at Five Flags Speedway have never really faired very well during Snowflake 100.  Brandon Carlson in 2008 was the last “local” driver to win the Saturday night race. Bret Holmes might erase that if they can get the H2 car out front.


Can’t Find Number 9?: Three-time Snowflake 100 winner Chase Elliott will not be in the mix this year as his NASCAR Sprint Cup obligations will have him out of the driver’s seat this year. Elliott had a total of five top-five runs in the Flake.


Sleepers:  The Toyota Racing Development (TRD) team with Chase Purdy could turn some heads, Chandler Smith will likely be a surprise to some and RS Senter is due for his first strong Snowflake finish.


Perfection: Jack Landis will not be running the Snowflake this year, but his record is near perfect with five starts and five top-10 finishes.


Leaders of the Pack:  Some of the top notch Pro Late Model ringers will be in the house for a shot at another Snowflake crown. Defending winner John Hunter Nemechek has two second-place finishes to go along with last year’s win. He’s led 138 laps in three runnings of the Flake.


Past Snowflake 100 Winners

2015 John Hunter Nemechek

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Chase Elliott

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Brandon Carlson

2007 Ryan Crane

2006 Matt Hawkins

2005 Hunter Robbins

2004 David Hole

2003 Evan Jackson

2002 Scott Carlson

2001 Stanley Smith

2000 Donald Long

1999 Gary St. Amant


Former Snowflake Pole Winners

2015 Justin South

2014 Augie Grill

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Justin South

2011 Bubba Pollard

2010 Hunter Robbins

2009 TJ Reaid

2008 Jason Young

2007 DJ VanderLey

2006 Korey Ruble


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Snowflake 100 at Five Flags Speedway