One of the more interesting races of the Snowball Derby weekend is the Pro Truck division that will square off on Saturday night along with the Alan Turner Snowflake 100.  The Pro Trucks line up for what will be their fourth run in front of the Snowball Derby weekend crowd and only one of those former winners is expected to be racing so a fresh face could visit Victory Lane.


“The Pro Trucks have really gained in popularity and numbers every since we put them on the track,” said track General Manager Tim Bryant.  “We have seen some great racing from this group and we expect more same during Derby weekend.”


sd-ppvThe 2016 points championship went to Taylor Jorgensen who won three times during the 2016 season.  Jorgensen who hails from Georgia led a cast in the top 10 that feature drivers from Alabama, Florida, Texas and and the for mentioned Peach Tree state.


The biggest competition for Jorgensen was Jarrett Parker who had two wins this season. Howard Langham logged three podium runs and bested Parker for second in points overall this year.  Last year’s Snowball Truck winner Stephen Davis also went to victory lane this season.


By The Numbers Pro Trucks 

21: As of mid-week of Thanksgiving there were 21 entires listed for the Pro Truck race at the Derby.  Normally in the support classes several teams will just show up and race and not pre-enter before the event.

36: A total of 36 drivers earned points this season in Truck action at Five Flags Speedway.

50: The main event will once again be 50-lap.

Perhaps a Sleeper: Rick Pollaro was the fastest driver in town in a truck at the recent test. He was 15th in the final point standings this year.

Late Model Switchers: Rodney Benefield, David Jones, Steven Davis are just a few of the drivers in the expected field that have Late Model experience.  Trucks drive nothing like Late Models, but the seat time is always important.

Keep an Eye on: Jay Jay Day and Cody Haskins, both were fast on the Snowball Derby test day and have won in trucks before.  Day runs very consistent at Mobile and Haskins is a former Speedweeks champion in the trucks at New Smyrna Speedway.


Past Winners

2015 Steven Davis

2014 Chopper Stagner

2013 Riley Thornton


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: Snowball Derby Pro Trucks