By the Numbers: 41st Annual Slinger Nationals

On Tuesday night, Super Late Model stars from across the country will converge at Slinger Super Speedway (WI) for the 41st edition of the Slinger Nationals.  The marquee 200-lap event tests driver and machine in a grueling battle against the high-banked quarter-mile oval, producing incredible racing in the process.


To preview Tuesday’s race, we take a look “By the Numbers” at the history of one of Wisconsin’s biggest short track racing events.




5: In his last five starts Ty Majeski has finished in the top four a total of four times, picking up the win in 2018.


7: Matt Kenseth is the only seven-time Slinger Nationals champion in the “Event Era” of the Slinger Nationals, which started in 2000.  Kenseth has eight top-five finishes in the event era and actually has one win in the series era prior to 2000, when the Nationals champion was crowned over the course of three races.


9: Lowell Bennett is one of the most decorated drivers in the history of the Slinger Nationals.  His four wins puts him among the elite, but his three second-place runs and his eight-year run of top five finishes are records that will likely not be topped anytime soon.  Bennett has not run the race since 2015.


11: Rich Bickle has the most wins at the Slinger Nationals, as the event used to be three events prior to the year 2000.  Bickle won two of the three races on three occasions.


200: The main event will be 200 laps again this year, like it has been for the last several years.


272: Ty Majeski has led 272 laps in the last four Slinger Nationals.


401: Matt Kenseth has led 401 laps at the Slinger Nationals.


600: Alex Prunty has completed all 600 laps in the last three Slinger Nationals. He has two top-five runs with a runner-up in 2017.


1397: Steve Apel has completed all 1,397 laps run in the Slinger Nationals since 2013. Along the way he has finished all of those events in the top 10 and five in the top five including a pair of third-place runs.  Apel has led 281 of those 1,397 laps.


1988: Butch Miller won all three races at the Slinger Nationals in 1988, becoming only the second driver to do so, behind Dick Trickle who did it in 1982.


2011: Back in 2011 Kyle Busch, won the Slinger Nationals and 14 days later he won the Oxford 250.  He was the only driver to win both events until Bubba Pollard did it in back-to-back years by winning Slinger in 2017 and Oxford in 2018.


Slinger Nationals Past Winners 

2019 Matt Kenseth

2018 Ty Majeski

2017 Bubba Pollard

2016 Matt Kenseth

2015 Dennis Prunty

2014 Chris Wimmer

2013 Rich Bickle

2012 Matt Kenseth

2011 Kyle Busch

2010 Lowell Bennett

2009 Matt Kenseth

2008 Matt Kenseth

2007 Lowell Bennett

2006 Matt Kenseth

2005 Nathan Haseleu

2004 Lowell Bennett

2003 Rich Bickle

2002 Matt Kenseth

2001 David Prunty

2000 Lowell Bennett

Prior to 2000 the Slinger Nationals was run under a multi-event format. The champions are listed below. 

1999 Conrad Morgan

1998 Tony Strupp

1997 Lowell Bennett

1996 Rich Bickle

1995 Butch Miller

1994 Matt Kenseth

1993 Joe Shear

1992 Rich Bickle

1991 Joe Shear

1990 Joe Shear

1989 Dick Trickle

1988 Butch Miller

1987 Joe Shear

1986 John Ziegler

1985 Dick Trickle

1984 Mark Martin

1983 Dick Trickle

1982 Dick Trickle

1981 Alan Kulwicki

1980 Lary Detjens


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

By the Numbers: 41st Annual Slinger Nationals