By the Numbers: SBM 125 at Star Speedway

The ground-pounding Modifieds storm into Star Speedway this Saturday for the eighth running of the SBM 125.  The event is growing in stature for the Tour-type Modifieds, and will be the next round of the Tri-Track Open Modified Series for 2019.


Here is a “By the Numbers” preview of the event before it is contested on Saturday.


2: Already in 2019, Matt Hirschman and Ronnie Williams have picked up a Tri-Track win.  The SBM 125 will be the third race of the season.


2: Fresh off his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Ronnie Silk looks to improve on two previous top-five runs.  Silk was second a year ago to Todd Patnode.


3.71: Matt Hirschman has a 3.71 average finish in the SBM 125.  Hircshman was third last year which marked his fourth top-five run in the event.  Hirschman has four wins in the SBM 125.


5: It had been five years since Todd Patnode had run the SBM 125 at Star.  In 2018 he of course won, but it was five seasons prior that he last ran the race in 2013 when he finished sixth.


5: A total of five drivers have logged two top-10 runs in each of the first two races.  Matt Hirschman, Ronnie Williams, Matt Swanson, Tommy Barrett, and Calvin Carroll.


7: Andy Seuss will be making his eighth start in the SBM 125.  He needs a little luck on his side because he’s not been in the top 10 since 2013.


8: This will be the eighth running of the SMB 125 at Star Speedway. This event has become one of the biggest for Modified drivers in the region.


19: The competition this year has been impressive as 19 cars went the full 100-lap distance back on June 23rd at the Open Wheel Wednesday event at Seekonk Speedway.


30: A year ago, 30 cars tried to make the SBM 125.  Only 22 started the feature.


51: Race fans can watch the race on the Speed51 Network as part of the Summer Thunder TV series, presented by PFC Brakes.  Click here to join Speed51’s Premium Network today and tune in.


2015: The SBM 125 was not held in 2015.


Past Winners of the SBM 125

2018 – Todd Patnode

2017 – Matt Hirschman

2016 – Matt Hirschman

2015 – Not Held

2014 – Jon McKennedy

2013 – Matt Hirschman

2012 – Matt Hirschman

2011 – Jon McKennedy


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: photo

By the Numbers: SBM 125 at Star Speedway