By the Numbers: Saturday’s Late Model Twin 51s at Hickory

Racing will resume at one of the nation’s most historic short tracks Saturday night with the Paramount Automotive Twin 51s for Late Model Stock Cars at Hickory Motor Speedway.  We take a look at the event and the history of “America’s Most Famous Short Track” in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.




0: The number of fans that will be in attendance due to current government restrictions during the COVID-19 pandemic.  This will mark the first crowd-less event held at Hickory Motor Speedway.


0.363: The length of the historic track that has produced so many NASCAR stars.  The track has been reconfigured three times and it’s present distance came about in 1970.


2: There have been two Late Model races contested this season, and 2017 track champion Ryan Millington has won both of them.  When the points battle gets underway, he could be the first driver to win a second championship since Austin McDaniel in 2013.


2: The Late Models will get two laps in time trials for the twin-51 lap features.


7: The number of former track champions expected to compete Saturday night.  Every Late Model champion at the track since 2012 plans to compete in the event.


2012 – Austin McDaniel

2013 – Austin McDaniel

2014 – Josh Berry

2015 – Matt Piercy

2016 – Dexter Canipe, Jr.

2017 – Ryan Millington

2018 – Jacob Heafner

2019 – Thomas Beane


8: JR Motorsports driver Connor Mosack will be behind the wheel of the No. 8 machine looking to score the biggest win(s) of his young career.


20: The two wins this year by Ryan Millington push his career win total at Hickory to 20.  Max Prestwood is the all-time track winner in the Late Model division with 82.

Top 10 All-Time LMSC Winners

Max Prestwood 82

Dennis Setzer 43

Tony Warren 36

Andy Mercer 32

Shane Huffman 30

Scott Kilby 29

Matt McCall 27

Andy Loden 25

Josh Berry 25

Three Drivers Tied at 22


24.99: The only way to watch Saturday’s racing from Hickory is via a live pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51. Live video tickets to watch all of the racing can be purchased for $24.99 by clicking here.


26: In 1992, Hickory Motor Speedway hosted what is now known as the NASCAR Xfinity Series for a race on their new asphalt track.  The race produced 26 yellow flags, which is a NASCAR record.  In all of the 35 previous NASCAR Cup Series races, there was never more then 10 yellows.


50: The Limited Late Models will be racing in their first Paramount Auto Group Big 10 event of the season.


51: The Late Model Stock Cars will run twin 51-lap feature events on Saturday night.


78: 2020 CRA SpeedFest winner Corey Heim will be behind the wheel of a Lee Pulliam Performance No. 78 Late Model.


1951: Hickory Motor Speedway was opened in 1951.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit: Speed51

By the Numbers: Saturday’s Late Model Twin 51s at Hickory