The 50th running of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car racing is now behind us.  Here is a look back at some of the numbers and stats that will now be a part of the history books.


4: In a class that was previously dominated by a handful of drivers, the Florida Modified division is beginning to show signs of being wide open. For the fourth straight year, a first-time Florida Modified champion was crowned in 2016 in the likes of Cody Stickler.  Josh Todd, Todd Stone and Tim Moore have all won championship during this run.


5: The parity in the Pro Late Model class continued as five drivers went to victory lane during the first five nights.  On the final night of racing, Derek Thorn won for the second time and became one of only two drivers in the last two seasons to have won more then once in PLM action.


graphic mobile app 2016-17:  Ryan Preece’s two Tour-Type Modified wins pushed his total to seven wins. Regardless of his NASCAR status we can imagine that Preece will be racing for many years at New Smyrna and he could move up the ladder. He will have a long way to go to pass Ted Christopher who has 43 wins.


10:  A perfect 10 was achieved by the Pro Late Model class as there has yet to be a repeat champion in their 10 years competing at Speedweeks.


15: With Ty Majeski winning the Super Late Model title it marks the 15th straight season without a repeat champion.  During that time frame, championship drivers have come from Florida, South Carolina, Maine, North Carolina, California and now Wisconsin.


100: Saturday night’s 100-lap Super Late Model race held all the cards on who would be the champion and who would just be a foot note in World Series history.  Ty Majeski didn’t let his fans down as he won the Bruce Gowland Memorial 100 and took home the Championship honors.  The foot note will be Harrison Burton who won twice and finished on the podium a total of four times.


150/151: A delay in the appropriate flags being displayed to the field during the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East JET Tools 150 resulted in a disputed finish on Sunday, February 14.  Per the NASCAR rule book, the official finish was determined by the running order after 150 laps, the advertised distance of the race.  Despite Ronnie Bassett crossing under the checkered flag on lap 151, it was Todd Gilliland who was declared the winner of the race for leading lap 150.


No Doubt: Patrick Thomas made the most of his opportunity at the 50th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  Thomas scored a clean sweep of the three Sportsman features on the track, but was later disqualified in post-race technical inspection on Sunday night.  Thomas’ success comes as no surprise as the 2015 NASCAR Whelen All American Series Division III National Champion was fresh off the best season of his career.


New Blood:  The Florida IMCA Modifieds saw a new World Series star emerge as Cody Stickler won four times to set up his run for the championship on the final night.


Back-to-Back: Ryan Preece became the first driver since Ted Christopher to win back-to-back Speedweeks titles in the Tour-Type Modifieds.  Preece also scored the win in the week-ending Richie Evans Memorial 100 for the second time.


Up the Ladder:  The return of Ron Silk to Speedweeks saw him score his eighth win on the high-banked half mile track.  Silk moves into the top 10 in Tour-Type Modified wins passing Greg Sacks, Jamie Tomaino and Eric Beers.


Family History:  Daniel Keene, Sr. was a four-time winner in Super Late Model action at New Smyrna Speedway during the World Series, but he never won a championship.  Now Daniel Keene Jr. can say he has something on his dad.  The second-generation driver won one feature and posted several strong runs to win the Pro Late Model title.


Consistency: Stephen Nasse scored podium finishes in three of the six Super Late Model races including the 100-lap race on Saturday night. He went winless at Speedweeks in 2016, but his only finish outside of the top six was a 13th-place finish on the first night of racing.  Nasse is still the last Florida native to win in a Super Late Model at Speedweeks.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent- Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Recapping the 50th Annual Smyrna WS