By the Numbers: Pro Late Models at New Smyrna’s World Series

Each year, New Smyrna Speedway (FL) hosts the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, bringing together several classes of racing for nine nights of racing at the half-mile oval.


To prepare fans for the action, our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the Pro Late Model division “by the numbers.”


Pro Late Models have been a part of the World Series of Stock Car Racing officially since 2007. The class was combined with the Limited Late Models in 2012. The roots of Limited Late Models goes back well into the 80s.


0: The number of repeat champions in the division.  No driver has ever won more than one Pro Late Model championship during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  That is a streak that will continue this year, as defending PLM champion Sammy Smith will be chasing a Super Late Model championship.


2: Augie Grill and Jamie Skinner are the only two former winners on the official entry list.


6: Cole Anderson is the all-time wins leader in the division with six wins. Five of those wins came during a dominating Speedweeks in 2018. Brad May is the only other driver with five wins.


47: Over the years, the fields have been deep and 47 different drivers have found victory lane. That’s over half the races fielding new winners as there have only been 82 races for the Pro Late Model division.


100: The major event for the Pro Late Models will be the 100-lap finale on the second Friday night. This could draw some of the bigger names to come down and run the weekend, with the Super Late Models running 100 laps the next night.


2007: The first season of Pro Late Model action saw six races and six different winners. The feat has not happened again since.


2011: The Canadian invasion is in full force as Martin Latulippe, Kevin Roberge and Shaun McWhirter combined for five wins in seven races. Latulippe won the title that season.


Pro Late Model Champions

2019 Sammy Smith

2018 Cole Anderson

2017 Jeff Choquette

2016 Daniel Keene Jr.

2015 Dalton Armstrong

2014 Spencer Davis

2013 Brandon Johnson

2012 Dakota Stroup

2011 Martin Latiluppe

2010 Sean Bass

2009 David Wagner

2008 Logan Ruffin

2007 Jonathan Beason


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 / Kyler Hope

By the Numbers: Pro Late Models at New Smyrna’s World Series