One of the most anticipated events of the short track racing season will get underway this week at New Smyrna Speedway.  The 52nd Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing begins Friday to kick off nine straight days of racing at the Florida half-mile oval.


To get you ready for the race, our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the Pro Late Model division “by the numbers.”


0: There have been zero repeat champions in the 12-year history of the Pro Late Model class.


4: The most races ever won in a single World Series by a Pro Late Model driver, and that record is held by Drew Brannon.  In 2012, Brannon was disqualified on the first night and made a run for the title only to come up short to Dakota Strop.


5: Brad May is the all-time wins leader at the World Series in the Pro Late Model class.


300x250 New Smyrna World Series 2018Top Winners in Pro Late Models at Smyrna World Series

Brad May – 5

Patrick Laperle – 4

Drew Brannon – 4

Spencer Davis –  3

Martin Latulippe – 3

Logan Ruffin – 3

Brandon Johnson – 3

Austin Kirkpatrick – 3

Jeff Choquette – 3


9: Jeff Choquette showed up last year and won the Pro Late Model title after picking up three wins. The No. 9 Jett Motorsports ride will see some action, but Choquette is not expected to compete in every PLM race this year.


11: The Pro Late Model class has been active for 11 years at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing and there have been 11 different champions.


Pro Late Model Past Champions

2017 – Jeff Choquette

2016 – Daniel Keene Jr.

2015 – Dalton Armstrong

2014 – Spencer Davis

2013 – Brandon Johnson

2012 – Dakota Stroup

2011 – Martin Latiluppe

2010 – Sean Bass

2009 – David Wagner

2008 – Logan Ruffin

2007 – Jonathan Beason


35: All Pro Late Model features will be 35 laps except for their big race, the 100-lap race held on the second Friday.


42: Last year we witnessed three new winners to bring the total number of winners in the Pro Late Model class to 42. There have been a large amount of one-off winners, 27 in fact. We can almost guarantee at least one new winner this year.


70: There have been 70 total Pro Late Model races in the 11 seasons.


81: Look for Giovanni Bromante to make his World Series debut at New Smyrna this coming week. Check out the story had on him a few days back.


Repeats Not Likely: Judging by the most recent entry list, we don’t expect to see a repeat champion. Truthfully, we won’t know the gauge of the car count until practice night on Thursday.


Footnote: In 2012, the Pro Late Model class was combined with the Limited Late Model class. The Limiteds were a part of Speedweeks dating back into the 1980’s. Brad May won three titles in the late 90’s and Jason Boyd won a pair after winning 15 of 17 races in a two-year stretch. In 2002, he won all nine nights which is a feat that has not been accomplished in Super Late Models or Modifieds.


Two Classes: Todd Stone won the 2014 Florida Modified title at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Racing.  Now he looks to be one of the select few who has a championship in two classes.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:


By the Numbers: Pro Late Models at New Smyrna WS