While the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing celebrates its 50th year this week, the Pro Late Model division will celebrate an achievement of its own.  When the first green flag drives for the first time on Friday, February 12 it will be begin the 10th year of Pro Late Model competition at New Smyrna Speedway.


In preparation for the event, Speed51.com’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the history of the division “by the numbers.”


4: The most races ever won in a single World Series by a Pro Late Model driver, and that record is held by Drew Brannon.  In 2012, Brannon was disqualified on the first night and made a run for the title only to come up short to Dakota Strop.


graphic smyrna world series5: Brad May is the all-time wins leader in the Pro Late Model division at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing. He won three times in 2013 and twice in 2014.  Since then we have seen him in a Super Late Model more often.


9:  In nine years we have seen nine champions in the Pro Late Model division.  There is no reason to suggest that we will not see a 10th champion this year.  The pre-race entry list shows no former champions entered at this point.


27: Starts in Pro Late Model action for Spencer Davis who logged 18 top fives and 22 top 10’s.  One year ago, Davis ran in the Super Late Model, Pro Late Model and Tour-Type Modifieds.  He also got his first win in the Trucks.  He has made a total of 67 starts and 49 of those resulted in top-10 finishes.


58: Number of Pro Late Model races that have been run during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing. In all there have been 30 different winners in those races with only 11 drivers having won more then one race in a series.


100: The big show for the Pro Late Models will be the 100-lap event on February 18.  Dalton Armstrong led 99 laps to win the 100-lap race a year ago.  Harrison Burton won the 100-lap race in 2014.  Brandon Johnson bested a 34-car field in 2013 in a win that would lead him to the overall championship.


136: The car number is 136 and the Tim Russell Driver Development car is ready for another shot at victory lane at New Smyrna.  In the past they have taken Tyler Thomas, Joey Mucciacciao and Kyle Larson to victory lane at Speedweeks.  We will have to see if this ride develops into a title run and who knows perhaps Tim Russell could be in the car for a night.


2015: In both 2007 and 2015 a total of six different drivers took home victories during Smyrna Speedweeks.


3025: There are 3025 miles between Derek Thorn’s hometown of Lakeport, California and New Smyrna Speedway, but that won’t stop him from looking to take home some wins and perhaps a championship.  Thorn is entered in both the Pro Late Model and Super Late Model division, but we are unsure of how many races he will run in each.


Past Pro Late Model Champions 

2015 Dalton Armstrong

2014 Spencer Davis

2013 Brandon Johnson

2012 Dakota Stroup

2011 Martin Latiluppe

2010 Sean Bass

2009 David Wagner

2008 Logan Ruffin

2007 Jonathan Beason


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Bruce Nuttleman/Speed51.com

By the Numbers: Pro Late Models at Smyrna World Series