Before Super Late Models take the green flag Sunday afternoon for the 40th annual Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway, the Pro Late Models will be on display during the Baby Rattler 125 Saturday evening.’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the history of the Baby Rattler “by the numbers” to get you ready for the race.


6: Bubba Pollard has three wins in the Baby Rattler, but what’s more impressive is the fact he’s recorded six finishes on the podium in the race. He’s finished no worse than third since 2011.


graphic 51 tv rattler 201611: This year will be the 11th running of the Baby Rattler 125. South Alabama Speedway runs Pro Late Model on a more regular basis and just a few Super Late Model shows including the Rattler.


37.5%: Pollard’s average winning percentage in the Baby Rattler. He’s won the race three times including the last two runnings.


51: The Baby Rattler 125 can be watched via a live online television-style broadcast on  Fans all around the world can watch the race by purchasing a live Speed51 TV video ticket.


77: Zane Smith will be in the Crooks Racing No. 77 ride and he’ll be pulling double duty. He had a fine season a year ago, but he’s itching for that big win to kick off 2016. Maybe it will come at South Alabama Speedway.


142: Total number of drivers who have competed in the Baby Rattler since 2006.


145: Korey Ruble, who has two wins and three seconds in the race, has led 145 laps in the Baby Rattler which includes over 100 in the last three years combined.


2006: The first year of the Baby Rattler and David Hole took the win. Ironically he only ran the race one more time in 2008 and finished 12th. The race has been completed on Sunday a few times with the Rattler 250 due to rain outs. In those years the race was shortened to 100 laps.


Pro Late Model Guns: Drivers like Justin South, Derek Thorn, Johanna Long, Zane Smith and Casey Roderick make up the entry list for this year’s Pro Late Model tilt at South Alabama Speedway. The locals like Brandon Odom will be tough as well  in one of the more competitive Baby Rattler fields in recent history.


Sanders Racing: Ronnie Sanders is the only three-time winner of the Rattler 250, but his Pro Late Model team has not been a part of the 250 for a few years. Sanders has since switched to the Pro Late Model ranks where he has won and taken several podium finishes.


DQ: This race has had a rash of disqualification among the top drivers. Steven Davis in 2008, Augie Grill in 2009, Bubba Pollard in 2010, and Justin South in 2013 had their finishes washed out in the tech line. Davis and Grill were winners who lost the win in the tech line.


Past Baby Rattler 125 Winners

2015 Bubba Pollard
2014 Bubba Pollard
2013 Korey Ruble
2012 Augie Grill
2011 Chase Elliott
2010 Korey Ruble
2009 Bubba Pollard
2008 Ryan Crane
2007 Ronnie Sanders
2006 David Hole


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Nuttleman

By the Numbers: PLM Baby Rattler 125 at South Alabama