By the Numbers: Previewing the 2020 CARS Tour Season

Two of the Southeast’s most popular Late Model touring series will begin their 2020 seasons this Saturday at Southern National Motorsports Park (NC). We get you ready for upcoming CARS Tour Late Model Stock Car and CARS Tour Super Late Model seasons in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.


Late Model Stock Cars


2: Bobby McCarty became the first two-time champion in CARS Tour history in 2019, successfully defending his 2018 championship by one point over Josh Berry.


3: Deac McCaskill has three poles in five prior events at Southern National. On two of those occasions, he’s gone to victory lane.


12: The Touring 12 will be the key players to watch this weekend. This year’s drivers include: Josh Berry, Layne Riggs, Brandon Pierce, Bobby McCarty, Mini Tyrell, Ronald Hill, Deac Mcaskill, Nolan Pope, Jared Fryar, Tyler Matthews, Chad McCumbee and Corey Heim.


18: Josh Berry enters the 2020 season with 18 career wins in the CARS Tour Late Model Stock division.  He is the winningest driver in the CARS Tour across either division.


27: Keep an eye on the No. 27 car of Tommy Lemons, Jr. who has nearly 40 CARS Tour starts in his career.


29: Josh Berry has led a total of 29 CARS Tour races in his career.


45: Deac McCaskill is the all-time top 10s leader with 45 finishes inside the top 10. That means he’s only been outside the top 10 a total of 10 times.


48: CARS Tour veteran Ronald Hill has 48 career starts and will be set to make his 50th start later this season.


55: Deac McCaskill is the all-time starts leader, having made 55 of the 56 races.


56: There have been a total of 56 events for the Late Model Stock Cars.


Super Late Models


Star Power: A stacked field of Super Late Model drivers will be in competition on Saturday. The current entry list includes defending champion Matt Craig, multi-time CARS Tour winner Bubba Pollard, Winchester 400 winner Stephen Nasse and last year’s Snowball Derby winner Travis Braden. Throw in a Kyle Busch Motorsports car with Sammy Smith, PASS National champion Mike Hopkins and PRA Tours champion Kodie Conner, and you have a very competitive field.


4: Across three different series, Matt Craig has won four of his last five starts at Southern National.


6: Matt Craig, Bubba Pollard and Brandon Setzer all have six career CARS Tour wins.


50: To this date there have been 50 Super Late Model events with the CARS Tour Super Late Models.


12: Brandon Setzer has the ability to run fast laps, and he has 12 CARS Tour pole awards to show for it.


15: We don’t believe he’ll be competing in the series at all this year, but former series champion Raphael Lessard has 15 finishes inside the top five in 24 starts.


41: Matt Craig has run 41 of the 50 races in the series.


1136: Matt Craig is the all-time series lap leader with 1136 laps led.


*Information provided by CARS Tour Digest and


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Stat Boy

-Photo credit: Speed51

By the Numbers: Previewing the 2020 CARS Tour Season