Super Late Model racing will return to New Smyrna Speedway (FL) for the second time in 2016 this Saturday for the 46th running of the Orange Blossom 100.  In order to get you prepared for the race,’s “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor previews the race “by the numbers.”


0: At no time during the 2015 season did a Super Late Model driver win back-to-back races at New Smryna Speedway, so the odds may not in favor of Red-Eye 100 winner Cole Anderson; however, Travis Cope started 2014 with wins in the Red-Eye and the Orange Blossom race.


graphic hampton inn new smyrna3: In the last three Super Late Model races at New Smyrna Speedway only Bubba Pollard, Brad May and Jeff Scofield have posted multiple top-five runs.  Not one of those drivers have won in the last three races.


11: Total number of drivers that have won the race more then once.  They include Donnie Allison, David Rogers, Jack Cook, Pete Orr, Jeff Choquette, Travis Kittleson, David Russell, Gary Balough, Jim Crowe, Bobby Brack and and Wayne Anderson.


20: It really only seems like a matter of time before Anthony Sergi gets a win in a 100-lap race at New Smyrna.  A strong run for the 2015 track champion at the Red-Eye 100 left him fourth.


27: Bobby Good looks to be the first back-to-back winner since the 2003-2004 sweep by Wayne Anderson.


67: Kaz Grala led 67 laps at the Red-Eye 100 and he’s looking for more.  Don’t be surprised if he’s back to take a swing at New Smyrna Speedway again.


97: Was the winning car number for Cole Anderson at the Red-Eye 100 a few weeks back.


100: The race is 100 laps and we have seen a pattern over the last few seasons.  You either make it to 100 or you loose it on 100.  Last year Bobby Good won the race after lap 100 in the tech line. Kyle Larson made a lap 100 pass to win in 2012.  2011 winner Tim Russell and 2013 winner Kyle Benjamin both went flag-to-flag for the win.


Florida: The home town team of Floridans have posted countless wins.  Only recently Kyle Larson and Kyle Benjamin have been able to break up the Florida mafia’s rule on this event.


Five Time: Jack Cook won the race five time with wins in 1990, 95, 97,98 and 2001.  Only Pete Orr got close with four wins including three in a row from 1991 to 1993.  The race featured the name Pete Orr Memorial for several year as Orr won it so often.


Three Tracks:  The Orange Blossom has been held at three different tracks as it started at Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway before it founds its home at New Smyrna Speedway as a combination with the Pete Orr Memorial race. The race spent two years at the Orlando SpeedWorld in 2009 and 2010.  The name Orange Blossom comes from the old Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway after they closed following the 1983 season.


Big Winners:  Donnie Allison has tasted victory in this historic race that dates back to the 60’s and Kyle Larson won his first ever asphalt start back in 2012 with a daring last-lap pass on Ben Kennedy.  Like so many events at New Smyrna Speedway the father-son combos of Dick and Wayne Anderson and David and Tim Russell have also enjoyed success in the race.


Past Winners

2015 – Bobby Good

2014 – Travis Cope

2013 – Kyle Benjamin

2012 – Kyle Larson

2011 – Tim Russell

2010 – David Rogers (Orlando)

2009 – Jeremy Colangelo (Orlando)

2008 – Jeff Choquette

2007 – Jeff Scofield

2006 – Travis Kittleson

2005 – Jeff Choquette

2004 – Wayne Anderson

2003 – Wayne Anderson

2002 – Travis Kittleson

2001 – Jack Cook

2000 – Pete Orr

1999 – David Rogers

1998 – Jack Cook

1997 – Jack Cook

1996 – David Russell

1995 – Jack Cook

1994 – David Russell

1993 – Pete Orr

1992 – Pete Orr

1991 – Pete Orr

1990 – Jack Cook

1989 – Leroy Porter

1983 – Gary Balough

1982 – Tom Duckworth

1981 – Jim Turning

1980 -Vance Murray

1979 – Gary Balough

1978 – Dick Anderson

1977 – Bobby Brack

1976 – Jim Crowe

1975 – Bobby Brack

1974 – Jim Crowe

1973 – Jim Crowe

1972 – Paul Conners

1971 – Donnie Allison

1970 – Randy Tissot

1969 – Donnie Allison

1968 – Donnie Allison

1967 – Will Cagle

1966 – Marty Handshaw


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Orange Blossom 100 at New Smyrna