By the Numbers: North-South Shootout at Hickory

North and South collide this weekend at Hickory Motor Speedway (NC) for the 17th Annual North-South Shootout, featuring some of the top Modified drivers from both the Northeast and Southeast.  To prepare for the event, here is a look “By the Numbers” at the history of the Modified showcase.


2: Patrick Emerling returns South looking to improve on two prior Top 10 finishes. He was a career best ninth last year.


3: This is the third different track to host the North-South Shootout.  Concord Speedway and Caraway Speedway were the other two before Hickory became the backdrop.


6: Matt Hirschman is a six-time North-South Shootout winner and his average finish is 4.93.  He’s won the North-South Shootout at Concord and Caraway, and he’s won at Hickory in the past so a run for seven is in the cards.


7: Jon McKennedy will return to see if he can roll a double and go back-to-back in the North-South Shootout.  It’s been done three times, but not since 2010 and 2011.


7: James Civali has never fared too well in the North-South Shootout.  Before he was 10th last year he had never been inside the top 20.  Now after a decent run perhaps better things are coming for the driver about to make his seventh start in the race.


16: This will be the 16th start for Burt Myers in the North-South Shootout. The two-time winner has a total of six top-five runs.


17: Jason Myers, Burt’s brother, has started all 16 previous North-South Shootouts.  Jason has seven top-10 runs in the race.


150: The Modified race will be 150 laps, but the Hickory Motor Speedway is smaller then the previous venue of Concord.


1955: The tradition of running Modifieds at Hickory goes all the way to 1955 when Jimmy Thompson and Bunk Moore split 40-lappers on the small track.  The events got bigger in the 70’s and 80’s.


2004: Was the last time Matt Hirshman failed to finish a lap at the North-South Shootout.


North South Shootout Past Winners 


Former Modified Winners


2018 Jon McKennedy

2017 Matt Hirschman

2016 Andy Seuss

2015 Justin Bonsignore

2014 Ryan Preece

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Ryan Preece

2011 Matt Hirschman

2010 Matt Hirschman

2009 Burt Myers

2008 Burt Myers

2007 Matt Hirschman

2006 Matt Hirschman

2005 John Blewett, III

2004 Donny Lia

2003 John Blewett, III


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 photo

By the Numbers: North-South Shootout at Hickory