By the Numbers: March Madness at Cherokee

This weekend, some of the best Dirt Late Model racers in the country will compete at Cherokee Speedway in March Madness.  March Madness is entering its 18th running, beginning in 2003 when Donnie Moran took the checkered flag.


To preview fans for this weekend’s event, here is a look “By the Numbers” at the history of racing’s version of March Madness.


4: Jonathan Davenport is a four-time winner of the March Madness event at Cherokee Speedway.  Davenport is the defending champion of the race, and has more March Madness wins than any other racer.


10: Chris Madden has three wins in this event.  The first two came 10 years apart, as Madden won in 2006 and 2016.  “Smokey” scored his third March Madness win in 2018.


16: There were 16 cars on the lead lap at the end of the race a year ago.


22: In his first series start at Cherokee Speedway, Zach Leonhardi charged from 22nd to post a 10th-place finish.


30: A total of 30 cars answered the call for last year’s race, after 36 racers attempted to make the feature field.


2011: It has been nine years since the last time a driver won the March Madness event and then went on to win the Blue Gray 100.  Those are the two signature long-distance Dirt Late Model events at “The Place Your Mama Warned You About.”


$12,000: A five-digit payday will be on the line for the winner of the March Madness event.


Sleeper: Michael Page from Douglasville, Georgia posted finishes of third and fourth in SAS events at Cherokee Speedway in 2019.  If he’s back, look for more of the same.


Back-to-Back: Jared Landers is the only driver to win back-to-back March Madness events.  Landers won March Madness in 2012 and 2013.


Past March Madness Winners 

2019 Jonathan Davenport

2018 Chris Madden

2017 Ross Bailes

2016 Chris Madden

2015 Randy Weaver

2014 Jonathan Davenport

2013 Jared Landers

2012 Jared Landers

2011 Jonathan Davenport

2010 Scott Bloomquist

2009 Jonathan Davenport

2008 Jimmy Owens

2007 Clint Smith

2006 Chris Madden

2005 Jeff Smith

2004 Earl Pearson, Jr.

2003 Donnie Moran


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51

By the Numbers: March Madness at Cherokee