The 52nd Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) has come and gone. Now, it’s time to look back at the event in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


Florida Modifieds

1: Wayne Parker, the driver of the No. 1 Florida Modified, won three times in the late stages of the World Series to mix things up among the leaders.  Parker, who was working with former World Series champion Jason Boyd, won the most races during the week.


6: Pending a tire test later in the week, Jerry Symons won his sixth Florida Speedweeks title, which would tie him with Richie Evans for the second most behind Ted Christopher.


44: Jerry Symons returned to form by extending his win total to 44 wins (on record) at the World Series. Symons won twice, as did Tank Tucker who now has 21 career wins.


S 2018.03.03 Montgomery Live Stream


Super Late Models 

7: Speedy Harrison Burton tied Kyle Benjamin’s 2013 record by setting fast time during six of the seven nights.  Jeff Choquette was fastest in qualifying on opening night before Burton set fast time the final six nights.


9: Harrison Burton now has a win total of nine Super Late Model wins at the World Series after recording three wins in 2018.  Counting his Pro Late Model victories, he now has 11 total victories at the World Series.


17: With Stephen Nasse winning the championship, he became the 17th different champion in the last 17 years.  No one has repeated in that time span.


51: Stephen Nasse won on opening night and picked off solid finishes to win the Super Late Model title at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  Nasse was fresh off his Southern Super Series title last year and has become a model points racer. He finished second and made up a four-point deficit on the final night of the World Series.


Speedweeks Veterans: All of the Super Late Model winners had a veteran theme.  Jeff Choquette has now scored at least one victory in eight different Florida Speedweeks. For Burton and Nasse, it was their fifth World Series with a victory. Ty Majeski chalked up a victory for the fourth year and Ryan Moore now has wins in three different years.


Tour-Type Modifieds 

1: For the first time ever, the Hirschman family won a Tour-Type Modified championship at New Smyrna Speedway.  Matt Hirschman spoke about how much it meant to the family and how hard the task was to win a Speedweeks championship.   Hirschman had one win during the week, but had solid runs each night to nail down the title.


2: The week saw two new Tour-Type Modified winners with Jon McKennedy and Patrick Emerling each picking up a win.  The last time there was more than one first-time winner in a season was back in 2009 when Ron Silk, Ryan Newman and Matt Hirschman all took their first wins.


3: Ryan Preece saw his quest for a fourth straight championship go by the wayside on the opening night when he came to the pits with no power. He battled back to score two wins including his third win in the Richie Evans Memorial 100. Preece is one of two drivers to have won the race three times or more; the late Ted Christopher has five victories in the race.


24: It was not the best week for Chuck Hossfeld, but he did manage to push his fast time award total to 24.  These numbers date back to 2008.  Hossfeld has been a staple at the World Series for the last two decades.


27.4: The average car count for the week.  We have been saying for years that the Modfiieds needed to get better car counts.  The Northeast has answered and now they need to keep it up.  The attention now turns to the other classes to follow suit in the car count department.



5: Sean Bass had a winning streak of five going into the final night.  He appeared to be on his way to making it six before his incident with lapped cars.


111: Jason Vail crossed the finish line first on the final night after Sean Bass tangled with slower traffic. However, Vail was later disqualified in post-race technical inspection, handing the win over to Patrick Thomas. 


Pro Late Models

1: The Pro Late Models produced only one first-time winner.  That was Mason Diaz, who stole the show in the 100-lap race on Friday night.


2: For the second year in a row, Jeff Choquette tasted victory in Pro Late Models and Super Late Models during the same week.  Choquette won in three classes in 2017.


6: Cole Anderson set two records. He won five times in a week, which is a record, and he now has six overall wins giving him the most of any driver that has competed in the division.


12: In 12 years of racing at the World Series, there have been 12 different champions in the Pro Late Model division.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Looking Back at New Smyrna World Series