The 2018 Outlaw Super Late Model season will begin Friday night at Kalamazoo Speedway (MI) with the Intimidator 100.’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor previews the race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


2: Although several winners of the Intimidator 100 have gone on to win the the Kalamazoo Klash, only two drivers, Phil Bozell in 2011 and Tyler Roahrig in 2017, have won the Intimidator 100 and the Kalamazoo Klash in the same season.


4: Tyler Roahrig has four career podium finishes in the Intimidator 100, all coming in the last five years.


5: Last year, Tyler Roahrig became the fifth different driver to win the race for a second time.  This year, he goes for what could be the first three-peat in the history of the race.


9: Tom Thomas enters the 2018 season with has eight top 10 finishes since 2002 in this race.  Thomas is a two-time winner of the event.


11: A streak of 11 straight years with Andy Bozell finishing in the top 10 came to an end in 2017 after a DNF by the veteran driver.  In all, Bozell has 14 top 10 runs in the Intimidator 100 including one win and eight podium finishes.


100: The main event for the Outlaw Super Late Models will be 100 laps.


1999: This race was first run in 1999 and it was won by Randy Sweet.


Future Champions: The winner of the Intimidator 100 has gone on to win the track championship on three different occasions.  Terry Senneker in 2009, Phil Bozell in 2011 and Mike Brooks in 2014 all went on to win the title at the end of the season.


Second-Tier Class: Buddy Head has won five Late Model Sportsman titles and he was fastest in pre-season testing.  His quest for another title begins this weekend.


No National Plugs: Kalamazoo Speedway dropped its NASCAR sanction in December after 29 years of being included in the NASCAR Home Tracks program.


Former Intimidator 100 Winners

2017 Tyler Roahrig (2)

2016 Tyler Roahrig

2015 Brian Bergakker

c2014 Mike Brooks

2013 Steve Needles (2)

2012 Steve Needles

c2011 Phil Bozell

2010 Terry Senneker (2)

c2009 Terry Senneker

2008 Andy Bozell

2007 Brandon Lyons

2006 Fred Campbell (2)

2005 Tom Thomas (2)

2004 Tom Thomas

2003 Rick Sexton

2002 Tim DeVos

2001 Todd Currier

2000 Fred Campbell

1999 Randy Sweet


Track Champions 

2017 Mark Shook
2016 Mark Shook
2015 Mike Brooks
2014 Mike Brooks
2013 Mike Brooks
2012 Brian Bergakker
2011 Phil Bozell
2010 Andy Bozell
2009 Terry Senneker
2008 Andy Bozell
2007 Andy Bozell
2006 Terry Senneker
2005 Andy Bozell
2004 Andy Bozell
2003 Andy Bozell
2002 Andy Bozell
2001 Andy Bozell
2000 Andy Bozell
1999 Andy Bozell
1998 Andy Bozell
1997 Ken Sheffler
1996 Mike VanSparrentak
1995 Mike VanSparrentak
1994 Andy Bozell
1993 Bob Holley
1992 Tim Curry
1991 Joe Bush
1990 Bob Holley
1989 Chris Orr
1988 Denny Nyari
1987 Mike VanSparrentak
1986 Fred Campbell
1985 Tom Martin
1984 Fred Campbell
1983 Tom Martin
1982 Fred Campbell


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Intimidator 100 at Kalamazoo Speedway