One of Super Late Model racing’s crown jewel events, the 47th Annual Winchester 400, will be held Sunday afternoon at Winchester Speedway (IN).  We get you ready for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


0: Despite many strong funs, Johnny VanDoorn has never won the Winchester 400. This will be his ninth try as he’s got two runner-up finishes. He has five wins at the track in shorter distance races.


4: Mark Martin is the all-time leader in pole awards for the Winchester 400 with four starts from the top spot.  Martin told that he was the first to circle the half mile in under 16 seconds.


“I remember setting the track record in 1980 – 15.74,” Martin said.   “It was the first time anyone ran in the 15 second bracket and that was pretty cool until Ryan Newman ran 14.908 at Bristol.  Winchester was our superspeedway. I enjoyed going there back in the day.”


4: The number of drivers who will be competing for the 2018 ARCA/CRA Super Series championship on Sunday.  Josh Brock, Austin Kunert, Hunter Jack and Jon Beach will enter the season finale with a chance at the championship. The highest finisher will be crowned the 2018 series champion.


7: Bob Senneker won the Winchester 400 a record seven times, but it was the ways in which he won the races that made it so special.  He was in the right place at the right time on so many occasions.


7: Number of years since a winner in the 400 has come from the state of Indiana.  David Stremme from South Bend, Indiana was the last one to do it.


14.935: The Winchester track record for Super Late Models was set during qualifying in 2009 by Chris Gabehart.


47: This will be the 47th running of the Winchester 400. The race did not run in 2004 and 2005 when the track was closed.


279: Donnie Wilson has led 279 career laps at the Winchester 400; however, his luck has not always been there. Sunday will be his 10th run in the 400 and he’s looking for his third top-five finish after a third in 2014 and a fourth in 2008.


400: The Winchester 400 is 400 laps around the high-banks of the Indiana track.


1859: The number of laps that Mike Eddy has led at the Winchester 400.  Despite leading nearly five full races, he won only twice in 1981 and 1983.  In that three-year span, he led 895 of 1200 laps.  That was perhaps one of the most dominating stretches in the 400’s history.


1987: It was almost a perfect day in 1987 for Butch Miller, who won the Winchester 400 from the pole and captured the ASA championship on the same day.  Miller went on to win the Snowball Derby in December as well.


2010: We just saw Chase Elliott win his second NASCAR Cup Series race at Dover but path to the top started on a little half-mile track in Indiana.  Elliott won the 2010 Winchester 400 when he led the final 44 laps and beat out Johnny VanDoorn for the win.


Sleeper: Stephen Nasse likes to go fast and he’s been off the grid a bit in the last few weeks.  This could be a weekend where he puts it all together.


Survivor: Chandler Smith will be there at the end, one way or another.  If Smith has trouble early, he’ll make laps at the end.  If his car is really good he’ll be up front most of the day.


Sniper: Steve Wallace was fourth last year and completed all 400 laps. His dad Rusty Wallace won this race in 1982 and maybe there could be a father-son combination come Sunday afternoon.


Active Lap Leaders in the Winchester 400

Donnie Wilson 279

Johnny VanDoorn 214

Chandler Smith 95

Travis Braden 60

Raphael Leesard 47


Former Winchester 400 Winners

2017 Noah Gragson

2016 Travis Braden

2015 Erik Jones

2014 Erik Jones

2013 Erik Jones

2012 Ross Kenseth

2011 Boris Jurkovic

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Kyle Busch

2008 David Stremme

2007 Ryan Lawler

2006 Scott Hantz

2005 Not Run

2004 Not Run

2003 Bobby Parsley

2002 Gary St. Amant

2001 Joey Clanton

2000 Gary St. Amant

1999 Brian Ross

1998 Derick Gilchrist

1997 Hank Parker Jr.

1996 Scott Walters

1995 Mike Cope

1994 Mike Cope

1993 Mike Cope

1992 Tim Steele

1991 Glenn Allen Jr.

1990 Bob Senneker

1989 Butch Miller

1988 Ted Musgrave

1987 Butch Miller

1986 Mark Martin

1985 Mark Martin

1984 Bob Senneker

1983 Mike Eddy

1982 Rusty Wallace

1981 Mike Eddy

1980 Terry Senneker

1979 Don Gregory

1978 Bob Senneker

1977 Bob Senneker

1976 Bob Senneker

1975 Bob Senneker

1974 Bob Senneker

1973 Vern Schorck

1972 Dave Sorg

1971 Denny Miles

1970 Dave Sorg


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Numbers: In-Depth Look at the Winchester 400