The Florida Modified division has been a mainstay during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).  As they gear up for another year of battles at the New Smyrna Beach oval, we take a look at the history of the division in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


4: Wayne Parker had only one win prior to the 2018 World Series when he added four more wins to his credit.  Parker won the final four nights, so he enters the World Series on a winning streak.


6: Jerry Symons is a six-time Florida Modified champion at the World Series.


6: The last six seasons have produced six different champions in the class at Speedweeks. Tank Tucker won in 2010 and 2011; that was the last time anyone went back-to-back.


7: The number of nights the Florida Modifieds will race.


15: The No. 15 machine of Tank Tucker has four championships at the World Series as he chases title number five. With over 20 wins to his credit, Tucker is second to only Jerry Symons.


35: Well over 35 different drivers have won races in the Florida Modified division.


44: The number of wins that Jerry Symons has at the World Series.  Not all records are complete, so he could have more.  He won the championship last year.


66: That’s the car number for Jerry Symons, who will be looking to add to his big win total.  By our count, he likely has over 150 starts in the class during Florida Speedweeks.


75: The big race for the Florida Modfieids will be on Tuesday when they go 75 laps.


Top Five Florida Modified Winners 

Jerry Symons 44

Tank Tucker 20

Lee Collins 13

Wayne Parker 5

*Records are incomplete


Fast History of the Florida Modifieds at the World Series

2016: Cody Stickler dominates the week and wins a championship.


2015: Five different drivers won races as Tim Moore won the Florida Modified title despite three wins from Doug Moff.


2011: Tank Tucker wins his third title in four years.  Overall, he has four title in the Florida Modified divisions.


2002: Jerry Symons wins eight times in nine nights in Florida Modified action to win his second of three-straight titles.


Surprising Names: The history of this division finds champions from other classes having to come over to win a show or two.  David Rogers, Ryan Preece, Jeff Choquette and Jason Boyd have all won titles in other classes and races in the Florida Modifieds.


New Blood: Augie Grill, a two-time Florida Governor’s Cup 200 winner, will join the cast of characters in the Florida Mods.


Eddy’s History: Two years ago, Travis Eddy won three times to capture the Speedweeks title.  His dad Mike Eddy won the Super Late Model title way back in 1977.  Now they have something in common to share.


*Records before 1998 are incomplete


Florida Modified Champions

2018 Jerry Symons

2017 Travis Eddy

2016 Cody Stickler

2015 Tim Moore

2014 Todd Stone

2013 Josh Todd

2012 Jerry Symons

2011 Tank Tucker

2010 Tank Tucker

2009 Nick Diano

2008 Tank Tucker

2007 Lee Collins

2006 Tank Tucker

2005 Jerry Artuso

2004 Lee Collins

2003 Jerry Symons

2002 Jerry Symons

2001 Jerry Symons

2000 Billy Mowery

1999 Jerry Symons

1998 Mitch French

-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent
-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Florida Modifieds at New Smyrna WS