One of Wisconsin’s biggest short track racing events of the year takes place Tuesday night at Kaukauna’s Wisconsin International Raceway with the 33rd running of the Dixieland 250.  With a long history dating back to Mark Martin winning the inaugural race, we decided to take a look at the race “by the numbers.”


2: He’s a five-time Slinger Nationals Champion and he’s a five-time track champion at WIR in the Red, White and Blue Series.  Look for Lowell Bennett in the No. 2 to be in the mix on Tuesday night.


5: There will be five former Dixieland 250 winners on the grounds for race night. Dennis Prunty, Kyle Busch, Nick Murgic, Rich Bickle and Mark Martin all have wins.  Martin will not be racing, but signing autographs for the fans before the race.


300x250 Dixieland 250 2017.08.015: If you are looking for a track standout then look no further then Jeff VanOudenhoven.  He’s a double digit winner in the Red, White and Blue Series and he’s a five-time Super Late Model track champion.


5: Ty Majeski has won five races this season alone on the ARCA Midwest Tour.


7: Steve Carlson is the only seven-time winner of the event. He also has at least three second-place runs for a total of 10 top-two finishes.


8: The Big 8 Series will be racing on the same night as the the Dixieland 250.  Race fans will get a double treat as the fellow Midwest Series will run the Dixieland Delight 38-lap shootout.  Michael Bilderback leads Jeremy Miller coming into the race. Bilderback won the race a year ago.


33: Ty Majeski and Dan Fredrickson have a combined 33 career wins on the ARCA Midwest Tour.  Majeski has 17 and Fredrickson has 16 wins.


40: The early entry list shows that 40 teams will be on hand for the Dixieland 250 this week.


51: All eyes will be on Kyle Busch’s No. 51 as he looks to steal the win against the series and track regulars.  It’s been a while since Kyle Busch has won a short track Late Model race.  His last win in the ARCA Midwest Tour came in 2013 at The Milwaukee Mile.


51TV: Race fans unable to make the trip to Wisconsin will be able to watch all of the racing action for $19.99 via’s pay-per-view video service. Live video tickets can be purchased by clicking here.


52: Ricky Baker, driver of the No. 52, heads to WIR after his win at the Wayne Carter Classic the last time out at Grundy County Speedway (IL).


119: Dalton Zehr, driver of the No. 119, is the only driver to finish in the top 10 in each of the last two Dixieland 250s.  Zehr is a former winner at Wisconsin International Raceway in the TUNDRA Series and hopes to run well this week.


250: The race is 250 laps.


$10,000: The race will pay $10,000 to the winner and $1,200 to start.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Nuttleman

By the Numbers: Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin Int’l Raceway