Over 40 of the best Super Late Model racers from the Midwest and beyond will battle in the Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna on Tuesday night.  We get you ready for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.com.


2: Ty Majeski has finished second in this race in each of the last two seasons.  The four-time series champion has never won the Dixieland 250, but he has won other races at WIR.


13: A total of 13 drivers finished all 250 laps one year ago in the Dixieland 250.


17: The number of hours that Colorado driver Brett Yackey will travel to compete in Tuesday’s Dixieland 250. Read more about Yackey’s journey by clicking here.


30: Some 30 years ago Butch Miller beat out a young Rich Bickle to win the Dixieland 250 Challenge as a part of the ARTGO and NASCAR All-American Challenge Series. Dale Earnhardt and Rusty Wallace both competed in that race.


31: There are a total of 31 entires from the home state of Wisconsin. Chances are good that a local driver will take home the $10,000 top prize.


51: Tuesday night’s race will be streamed worldwide via a pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.com.  Race fans unable to make it to the track will be able to purchase a live video ticket for just $19.99. Click here to purchase your ticket today.


250: The main event will be 250 laps with caution laps counting until the final 10 laps.  Only a handful of Super Late Model races go this long of a distance.


750: Dalton Zehr is one of those drivers who has completed all 750 laps during the three previous Dixieland 250s.  He has three top 10s to his credit, including a pair of sixth-place finishes.


806: Casey Johnson leads the current WIR points standings with a total of 806 points heading into the big Dixieland 250. He’s also the defending winner of the race.


1981: This race was contested for the first time in 1981 when short track ace Mark Martin claimed the honors. Martin would again win in 1984.  Since then, short track legend Dick Trickle won four times, Butch Miller three, and Steve Carlson leads them all with seven wins.


10,000: This race is one of the marquee races of the season for the ARCA Midwest Tour due to the extended distance and big $10,000 payday.


Hot Streak: Ty Majeski recently added one of Wisconsin’s crown jewel races to his resume, and now he will look to stay hot by winning another.


History Lesson: While the Dixieland 250 is the biggest event of the year at the Kaukauna oval, there is another big race remaining to cap off another championship.  The Red, White and Blue Series has been running races since 1972. Another chapter will end later this week as Maxwell Suchultz leads Bobby Kendall by just two points.  Both are entered in Tuesday night’s race.  The final race will be run Thursday, August 9.


Former Winners Enter: The last three winners of the race will be on hand looking to add to excitement.  Casey Johnson, Dennis Prunty and Nick Murgic have won the last three Dixieland 250s.  Rich Bickle and Johnny Sauter are also entered, bringing the total to five former winners entered.


Double Features: The Big 8 Series will run the Dixieland Delight 38-lap event prior to the Dixieland 250.


Dixieland 250 Entries 

1 Jesse Oudenhoven – Kaukauna WI

5 Casey Johnson – Edgerton WI

5 Jeff Holmgren, Jr – East Troy WI

5 John Beale – Verona WI

5 Johnny Sauter – Necedah WI

7 John DeAngelis, Jr – Hubertus WI

7 Paul Shafer, Jr – Portage IN

8 Billy Mohn – New Market MN

8 Chad Butz – Suamico WI

9 Derek Kraus – Stratford WI

9 Kyle Calmes – Gillett WI

10 Andy Monday – Appleton WI

11 Bobby Kendall – Montello WI

12 Sam Mayer – Franklin WI

12 Nick Murgic – Rosemount MN

14 Austin Nason – Roscoe IL

15 Gabe Sommers – Plover WI

17 Grant Griesbach – Pewaukee WI

18 Michael Ostdiek – Lakeville MN

30 Pete Vandermolen – Oshkosh WI

32 Brett Yackey – Greeley CO

34 Maxwell Schultz – Reedsville WI

36 Dan Fredrickson – Lakeville MN

39 Andrew Morrissey – DeForest WI

42 Dennis Prunty – Knowles WI

43 Matt Kocourek – Franklin WI

44 Justin Mondeik – Gleason WI

45 Jeff VanOudenhoven – Appleton WI

45 Rich Bickle, Jr – Edgerton WI

51 Steve Apel – West Bend WI

52 Brent Strelka – Freedom WI

53 Jake Carpenter – Ashwaubenon WI

75 Chris Weinkauf – Merrill WI

75 Dillon Hammond – Grand Marsh WI

76 Jason Weinkauf – Merrill WI

77 Jonathan Eilen – Hampton MN

81 Chase Purdy – Meridian MS

91 Mickey Schallie – Darboy WI

91 Ty Majeski – Seymour WI

97 James Swan – Lake Geneva WI

119 Dalton Zehr – Daytona Beach FL


Past Winners of the Dixieland 250

2017 Casey Johnson

2016 Dennis Prunty

2015 Nick Murgic

2014 Not Run

2013 Not Run

2012 Not Run

2011 Tim Schendel

2010 Johnny Sauter

2009 Steve Carlson

2008 Steve Carlson

2007 Kyle Busch

2006 Not Run

2005 Stephen Leicht

2004 Steve Carlson

2003 Steve Carlson

2002 Brian Hoppe

2001 Steve Carlson

2000 Brian Hoppe

1999 Scott Hansen

1998 Steve Carlson

1997 Steve Carlson

1996 Joe Shear

1995 Bryan Reffner

1994 Joe Shear

1993 Scott Hansen

1992 Steve Holzhausen

1991 Dick Trickle

1990 Dick Trickle

1989 Rich Bickle

1988 Butch Miller

1987 Dick Trickle

1986 Butch Miller

1985 Butch Miller

1984 Mark Martin

1983 Dick Trickle

1982 Jim Sauter

1981 Mark Martin


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: Dixieland 250 at Wisconsin Int’l Raceway