By the Numbers: CRA SpeedFest 2020 at Cordele

The first major Late Model event of the 2020 season will take place this Saturday, January 25 at Crisp Motorsports Park in Cordele, Georgia.  We get you ready for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.


2: There will be two Late Model races contested on Saturday, one for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Pro Late Models and one for the ARCA/CRA Super Series Super Late Models. Both races can be viewed live via Speed51’s pay-per-view broadcast by visiting


4: Last year, Casey Roderick won the Pro Late Model portion of SpeedFest for the second time in his career. Roderick became the fourth driver to win the race multiple times.  John Hunter Nemechek and Chase Elliott each have three wins.


6: Overall, Chase Elliott has six wins at SpeedFest with three in the Super Late Model race and three more in the Pro Late Model race.


16: This is the 16th year of the SpeedFest event that started in Florida at USA Speedway in Lakeland, Florida.  The field was normally split into North-South sections for prelim races before Pro Late Models were added in 2009.


18: Between the two races, Bubba Pollard has a total of 18 starts and two wins, one in each division.  Despite the low wins total, he does have 11 top-five finishes in those events.


47: Brian Campbell returns to SpeedFest after leading laps form the outside of the front row in 2019.  Campbell’s eighth-place finish last year was his only SpeedFest start at Watermelon Capital Speedway.


54: Matt Craig was lights out towards the end of last season and there’s no reason to believe he won’t be just as good in 2020.  A new track and a strong field of competitors will make for a challenging weekend, but look for the No. 54 machine to be a contender.


125: The JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Pro Late Model race is 125 laps.


200: The ARCA/CRA Super Series Super Late Model race will be 200 laps this season. It has been at this distance for all but one SpeedFest event, when the race was ran as a 250-lap feature.


2011: The year 2011 remains the only year in which one driver won both races of SpeedFest.  It was Chase Elliott who accomplished the feat.


2192: Number of laps that Bubba Pollard has completed at SpeedFest.


Double Up: Kyle Plott, Steve Dorer, David Hodges, Willie Allen, Daniel Dye, and Stephen Nasse are the six drivers that will be looking to pull double-duty this weekend.


History: This in the ninth-straight year the event has been held at Watermelon Capital Speedway.


SpeedFest Super Late Model Past Winners

2019 Connor Okrzesik

2018 Chandler Smith

2017 Harrison Burton

2016 Bubba Pollard

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Chase Elliott

2013 Jeff Choquette

2012 Kyle Busch

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Kyle Busch

2009 Kyle Busch

2008 Jeff Choquette

2007 Eddie Hoffman

2006 Mike Fritts

2005 Charlie Menard


SpeedFest Pro Late Model Winners

2019 Casey Roderick

2018 Bubba Pollard

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 John Hunter Nemechek

2015 John Hunter Nemechek

2014 John Hunter Nemechek

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Chase Elliott

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Greg Simpson

2009 Greg Simpson


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51

By the Numbers: CRA SpeedFest 2020 at Cordele