One of the first major Super Late Model races of the year will be held Sunday afternoon at Crisp Motorsports Park in Cordele, Georgia.  We take a look at that race — CRA SpeedFest 2019 — in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


1: Only one former SpeedFest Pro Late Model (JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour) winner is listed on the entry list. Casey Roderick, who won in 2017, will look to win for the second time in three seasons.  Roderick has been third or better in each of the last three Pro Late Model races.


3: Defending Super Late Model winner Chandler Smith will be looking to complete all 200 laps for the third-straight year and have a shot at a second win.


4: Kyle Plott will be looking forward to this weekend as he won the last time there was a Super Late Model race at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA).  Plott won last year’s Southern Super Series race at the track but has not competed in CRA SpeedFest since 2016.


12: Harrison Burton, driver of the No. 12, has competed in four Super Late Model races during SpeedFest.  In addition to his win in 2017, Burton has three top-five finishes in four starts.


51: Kyle Busch is a three-time winner of the SpeedFest Super Late Model event.  Busch failed to finish his last SpeedFest start in 2016 which is about his only blemish on his record.  His resume at SpeedFest includes four top-five finishes in four other starts.


125: The JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Pro Late Model race will be 125 laps again this season. The distance has been as high as 150, but it’s at 125 again this season.


200: The Super Late Model race will be 200 laps this season. It has been at this distance for all but one SpeedFest event, when the race was ran as a 250-lap feature.


2012: Jeff Fultz will run the SpeedFest Super Late Model portion for the first time since 2012.  He was third in 2010.


Fast Time: Bubba Pollard swept the pole awards in 2018 to bring his total to five.  Here is the breakdown of previous pole winners, which featured lots of parody until Pollard swept last year.


Pole Winners

Bubba Pollard 5 (3 SLM, 2 PLM)

Johnny Sauter 2 (SLM)

John Hunter Nemechek 2 (PLM)

Casey Roderick 2 (SLM, PLM)

Steve Wallace (SLM)

Paul Kelley (SLM)

David Ragan (SLM)

Brandon Johnson (PLM)

Dwayne Buggay (PLM)

Chase Elliott (PLM)

Jeff Cannon (PLM)

Zane Smith (SLM)

Erik Jones (SLM)


Feels Like the First Time: For the first time in his career Bubba Pollard won the Pro Late Model portion of SpeedFest in 2018.  Pollard beat out Justin South for the win.


Yes, Again: After three podium finishes in the Pro Late Model race, Bubba Pollard won the Pro Late Model race like we mentioned above.  In the Super Late Model race he came home second for the third time in his career.  Between the two races he has two wins, eight podiums, and 11 top-five finishes.


A Rivalry in the Making?: Back in 2010 at SpeedFest, Kyle Busch and Casey Roderick tangled while battling for the win at Lanier.  Roderick went around and Busch was sent to the rear.  Could a similar outcome come into play this weekend?


SpeedFest Super Late Model Winners

2018 Chandler Smith

2017 Harrison Burton

2016 Bubba Pollard

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Chase Elliott

2013 Jeff Choquette

2012 Kyle Busch

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Kyle Busch

2009 Kyle Busch

2008 Jeff Choquette

2007 Eddie Hoffman

2006 Mike Fritts

2005 Charlie Menard


SpeedFest Pro Late Model Winners

2018 Bubba Pollard

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 John Hunter Nemechek

2015 John Hunter Nemechek

2014 John Hunter Nemechek

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Chase Elliott

2011 Chase Elliott

2010 Greg Simpson

2009 Greg Simpson


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: CRA SpeedFest 2019 at Cordele