As we head to the New Hampshire Motor Speedway or the “Magic Mile” for the next stop on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, we look back on some of the numbers that surround the history of Modifieds at NHMS and how the current roster has done on the 1-mile oval.


5: Four-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby seeks his fifth win at New Hampshire.


6: Of his six wins at the “Magic Mile” Reggie Ruggiero won five-in-a-row from July of 1992 to April of 1994.  That was the most for several years before Mike Stefanik won there a record eight times.


300x250 Summer Thunder 2017.07.13 (Busch)14: NASCAR Whelen Tour Modified races have been won from the pole 14 times.


20: Hard to imagine that Ryan Preece is 0-for-20 in points-paying NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races at New Hampshire. The former series champion has 17 career wins and four-career third-place finishes at NHMS. He does have eight starts inside the top five.


22: The entry list will feature a total of 22 wins at New Hampshire. Ted Christopher has five, Todd Szegedy has four as does Doug Coby. Ryan Newman will make a Modified start seeking his third win at New Hampshire.


29: Ted Christopher has 29 top-10 runs at NHMS.  That comes with five wins and 21 top-five runs.


35: The record for the most lead changes in a race at New Hampshire in a NASCAR Modified Tour race is 35 in 2014.  Bobby Santos III led only one lap, the last one to make the 35th and final lead change of the day.


40: Mike Stefanik won a 1998 race from the 40th starting spot. Only three times has a drive won a race from outside a top 30 starting spot.


44: The top three drivers in points are a combined 0-44 at the Magic Mile.  Timmy Solomito, Eric Goodale and Rowan Pennink have never visited victory lane and in fact, the three only have four top-five runs.  If this streak continues the points could get shuffled up after Saturday.


46: Before Steve Park raced for Dale Earnhardt he was a NASCAR Modified star with four wins in 20 starts on the New Hampshire Mile. In all, Steve Park has 46 NASCAR starts at Loudon.


66: This will be the 66th point-paying race for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.  The first was back in 1990 won by Mike McLaughlin.  In recent years, NASCAR has introduced the All-Star Shootout. Those three events make this the 70th NASCAR Modified event at NHMS>.


96: Ted Christopher has 96 career NASCAR starts at New Hampshire including 53 in the Modifieds.


99: Veteran Jamie “The Jet” Tomaino will run his 66th consecutive race at NHMS. His trademark number 99 will once again circle the New Hampshire oval.  He has 12 top 10 runs and has completed 5,652 laps.


Active Tour Modified Wins at NHMS

Ted Christopher 5

Doug Coby 4

Todd Szegedy 4

Ron Silk 2

Ryan Newman 2

Donny Lia 2

Bobby Santos 1

Woody Pitkat 1

Justin Bonsignore 1


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the Mighty Modifieds at the Magic Mile