The Pro All Stars Series invades North Carolina’s Hickory Motor Speedway on Saturday for the Mason Dixon MegaMeltdown. This is the first “MegaMeltdown” but not the first time that PASS has run the Mason Dixon Meltdown. We wanted to take an in-depth look at this “Mega” race in today’s By the Numbers.


3: PASS National Champion hopeful Ben Rowe has three wins at Hickory. In all, Rowe has 15 starts, three wins, eight top five runs and 10 in the top 10. All with an average finish of 8.92.


300x250 PASS MegaMeltdown PPV4: Ben Rowe seeks his fourth PASS National Championship.  If he wins it, his PASS Championship total will be 10 with four in the north, one in the south and five national.


6: As of right now a total of six former Hickory winners will be in the field. Tate Fogleman, Ben Rowe, Mike Rowe, Chris Dilbeck, Brandon Setzer, and DJ Shaw have all won on the famous Hickory track.


11: Matt Craig is on the verge of breaking an 11-year run of 11 different PASS South champions.  Craig will be the first repeat champion and his lead of 78 points should be enough for him to accomplish this feat.


21: By our accounts Jay Fogleman has run 21 touring series races at Hickory Motor Speedway and has no wins.  Perhaps he will put it all together like his son did last year at Hickory.


36: The plan is for a 36-car field.  Here is the info from the entry form 31 cars will qualify for the feature event. The top 20 through time trials, 11 through Consis and “Last Chance Races”. There will be two provisionals based on South points. There will be two provisionals based on North Points. There will be one National Provisional. The promoters reserve the right to add additional starting positions.


300: The feature event is 300-laps making it the longest Meltdown race in PASS history.  This is also one of the longest races in PASS South history.


15,000: The winners share of the main event will be $15,000 making it one of the richest races of the year.


Sleeper: In a Dick Woodman ride has Trevor Sanborn behind the wheel.  Sanborn could be dangerous just on pure motivation.


Big Race Guns: Between Mike Rowe, Ben Rowe, Travis Benjamin, and Glen Luce, a total of eight Oxford 250 wins are represented on the pre-race entry list.


A Record Year: After five wins this season Matt Craig looks to cap off his second-consecutive PASS South championship season with a win in the Mason-Dixon Meltdown.


Races with Meltdown Name 

2016 Dalton Sergeant (Concord)

2015 Brandon Setzer (Hickory)

2014 Trevor Noles (Southern National)

2013 Tyler Church (Southern National)

2012 Preston Peltier (Concord)

2011 Colt James (Concord)

2010 Justin Wakefield (Newport)

2009 Ben Rowe (South Boston)

2008 Johnny Clark (South Boston)

2007 Ben Rowe (Concord)

2006 Cassius Clark (South Boston)

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the Mason Dixon MegaMeltdown