The Lee Fields Memorial is one of the biggest Super Late Model races of the year in the Deep South. It attracts some of the biggest names in Super Late Model racing the south has to offer. We decided to take an in-depth look at the race in this edition of “By the Numbers.”


2: Augie Grill heads to Mobile with one number on his mind.  Number one.  Each of the last two years Grill has come home second in this event. First it was Donnie Wilson who beat him out in 2015 and then Garrett Jones in 2016.  Grill led 71 laps and was the leader at halfway, but he couldn’t run down Jones in the late stages.


300x250 2017.08.19 Lee Fields LIVE5: All across the region Bubba Pollard has success at each and every track he’s run at.  The Lee Fields Memorial has been his playground.  Pollard is a five time winner and he has finished fourth or better in every race he’s run at the event.  Pollard dominated this event when it was a Pro Late Model show and he’s now looking to add a Super Late Model win to it.


15: 2016 Snowball Derby winner Christian Eckes heads to Mobile International Speedway for the first time in his career. Eckes could use a little magic from the Gulf Coast as he has plenty more scheduled starts before he tries to defend his Snowball Derby title in December.


The Other 26: When you think of the number 26 you think of Bubba Pollard, but Chandler Smith is making his name for himself in the deep south.  He did win a qualifying race at Bristol, but we think bigger things are on the horizon for this youngster. He’s been in the top 10 of every SSS race and was third in the other stop at Mobile this season.


51: Stephen Nasse is the points leader as the series starts a three-race stretch to the finish that could result in the first series championship for a Floridian driver.  North Carolina’s Daniel Hemric won the first, Georgia’s Bubba Pollard won the second, Texan Casey Smith took the third and Oklahoma’s Donnie Wilson won last year.


88: A year ago Garrett Jones scored a minor upset win in the Lee Fields Memorial and they are heading back to Mobile looking for more.  Jones comes into the half-mile track in a battle for the season championship.


150: The Southern Super Series Super Late Model event will be 150-laps on Saturday.


6,000: The race pays $6,000 to win.


The Race is On: It’s a three-race battle at three tracks in three different state for the Southern Super Series Championship.  Will it be Stephen Nasse, Chandler Smith, Garrett Jones or Kyle Plott? All three are mathematically in the mix.


History Lesson: Lee Fields was the promoter/owner of Mobile International Speedway (AL). He was a four-time Gulf Coast Heavyweight champion in the wrestling ring. In 1958, 1959, 1960 and 1962 he held the honor as champion of the Gulf Coast. Fields was also the owner and promoter for the Gulf Coast Wrestling Association from late 1959 through January 1978. It was during that time period he took over Mobile International Speedway.  He held that post until the year 2000 at the time of his death.


Past Series Champions

2016 Donnie Wilson

2015 Casey Smith

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Daniel Hemric


Lee Fields Memorial Past Winners

2016 Garrett Jones

2015 Donnie Wilson

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Hunter Robbins

2012 Bubba Pollard

2011 Bubba Pollard

2010 Bubba Pollard

2009 Bubba Pollard

2008 Johanna Long

2007 Cale Gale

2006 Eddie Mercer

2005 Jay Middleton

2004 Eddie Mercer


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the Lee Fields Memorial at Mobile