The Florida Governor’s Cup 200 at New Smyrna Speedway is one of the most historic short track races there is. To get fans prepared for this weekend’s 53rd Annual Governor’s Cup, our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor decided to take a deeper look at this race in this week’s By the Numbers.


2: Bubba Pollard finished second a year ago to Ty Majeski in what could have been a weekend sweep after he won the Pro Late Model race as well.  Pollard’s Pro Late Model has not lost a race since this show last year.


2: Daniel Keene Jr. is the only two-time winner of the Pro Late Model race, which is run the night before the 200.  It’s been going on since 2010 with only one year off due to a rain out.


3: Three former winners are on the entry list with David Rogers, Jeff Choquette and Travis Cope.


5: Jeff Choquette has five top-five runs in the Governor’s Cup 200 and two wins.  He’s been fifth and second the last two seasons.


29: That kid in the 29 ride is back for another start in action at New Smyrna Speedway. Spencer Davis has 76 starts at Smyrna in the World Series and this will be his fifth Gov Cup.


200: The Florida Governor’s Cup 200 is 200 laps, making it the longest race of the season at New Smyrna Speedway.  This year will be the 53rd annual running of the race.


290: The number of laps that Ty Majeski has led in the last three Florida Governor’s Cup 200’s.  He’s won all three and led a career high 193 laps last year.


350: The number of laps led by Stephen Nasse in the Governor’s Cup.  Fresh off the Mobile 300 win, why not go with Nasse who was the World Series champion this year?


15,000: The winner will pocket $15,000 for taking the checkered flag.


Why Not Me?  Brad May won the track Super Late Model title this year and could be a sleeper pick for the big race come Sunday.


Record Starts: David Rogers will be making his 30th start in the Florida Governor’s Cup on paper.  We don’t know for sure how many races he has run as records are not 100-percent accurate.


Four?  Ty Majeski is the the fourth driver to win three in a row. He will not win a fourth straight Governor’s cup because he will be competing in the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at ISM Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona.


Night Before Pro Late Model Winner

2017 Bubba Pollard

2016 Daniel Keene Jr.

2015 Riley Thornton

2014 Rained Out

2013 Daniel Keene Jr.

2012 Brandon Johnson

2011 Rich Clouser

2010 Joe Winchell


Past Winners Florida Governor’s Cup 200

2017 Ty Majeski

2016 Ty Majeski

2015 Ty Majeski

2014 Travis Cope

2013 Augie Grill

2012 Augie Grill

2011 Erik Jones

2010 David Rogers

2009 Tim Russell

2008 Wayne Anderson

2007 Jeff Choquette

2006 Jeff Scofield

2005 Mike Fritts

2004 Jeff Choquette

2003 Wayne Anderson

2002 Mike Fritts

2001 James Powell, III

2000 Jimmy Cope

1999 Wayne Anderson

1998 Billy Bigley, Jr.

1997 David Rogers

1996 Jack Cook

1995 David Russell

1994 Pete Orr

1993 Pete Orr

1992 Bobby Gill

1991 Bobby Gill

1990 Bobby Gill

1989 Dick Anderson

1988 Dick Anderson

1987 Butch Miller

1986 Butch Miller

1985 Butch Miller

1984 Butch Miller

1983 Leroy Porter

1982 Jimmy Cope

1981 Mike Eddy

1980 Not Run

1979 Jim Fenton

1978 Dick Trickle

1977 Robert Hamke

1976 Ed Howe

1975 Ed Howe

1974 Ed Howe

1973 Wayne Reutimann

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Jack Arnold

1970 Don Gregory

1969 Robert Hamke

1968 Gary Balough

1967 Dumont Smith

1966 Bobby Brack

1965 Wayne Reutimann

-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the 53rd Florida Governor’s Cup