1: It’s the most important pill that can be drawn in the pre-race draw. A low number could be the best way to know where you stand. A one is the pole for heat one. A number in the middle could be a pole for another heat or the last row. The only one that counts is that one pill.

3: The win streak for Maine drivers is at three right now. The record for Pine Tree State drivers goes from 1996 to 2006 when they took 11 in a row.

3: There are three total three-time winners of the Oxford 250. Dave Dion was the first after he won in third in 1992. Ralph Nason then took three straight from 1998 to 2000. Mike Rowe joined the three timers club in 2005 when he won his 150th career feature at the track in the biggest race.

4: Austin Theriault has four top five finishes in four starts at the 250. He was second in 2014.

S 51 TV Network red5: A total of five drivers have been back-to-back winners at Oxford. Geoffrey Bodine was the first, then Ralph Nason, Ben Rowe, Eddie MacDonald and Travis Benjamin.

6: Despite only one win in the 250, Butch Lindley might have the best track record ever at OPS. In eight starts at the 250 he ran in the top-three six times. His win and three seconds dominated the late 70’s in the big event.

16: Looking at our records, we can see that 16 different drivers have led over 100-laps at the 250 and have not gone to victory lane. Perhaps one of the most notable drivers to do that was Brad Leighton in 2010 where he made $18,900 in lap money and did not win.

19: If Ben Rowe makes the main event on Sunday it will be his 19th start, allowing him to pass veteran Dick McCabe in starts at the 250.

34: Mike Rowe will be looking to make the 250 for the 34th time.

53: DJ Shaw comes into this race with a 53-point lead for the PASS North title. This event is a wild card because a poor finish could cost him dearly or a good finish could all but lock up the title for him. Shaw has never finished in the top 10 at the 250.

88: Jeff Taylor is a multi-time track champion and he has run the 250 some 16 times with a second in 1995 being his best finish. He has led the race at least half a dozen times, but the big win has eluded him over the years

119: Joey Dorion’s laps led over the last three years. You would think that now he’s well overdue for a win. We will see if his story plays out on Sunday.

250: The race is 250 green-flag laps for the main event.

680: Drivers have run the Oxford 250. There are a whole lot more who have not qualified on that list.

796: Ralph Nason has led 796 laps in the Oxford 250. That is by far the most as Nason won the race three times.

$25,000: The first-place price tags this race as the richest one-day asphalt race in the county.

What a Weekend: A total of 21 features will be seen this weekend at Oxford from Friday to Sunday. That does not include the heats, consis, and last chance races. PASS Super Late Models, ACT Late Models, Modified Racing Series, New England Mini Stock Tour and PASS Modifieds are just some of the highlights for the racing action of the weekend.

Former Winners: Glen Luce, Travis Benjamin, Joey Pole, Ben Rowe, Mike Rowe, Scott Robbins, Larry Gelinas, and Jeremie Whorff are the past champions scheduled to try and make the show this weekend.

Local Heroes: This year might be the best yet for having a local hero win the 250 again. The local contingency is led by point leader Tim Brackett and son TJ Brackett, who are the only two repeat winners this season.

Past 250 Winners

2015 Glen Luce
2014 Travis Benjamin
2013 Travis Benjamin
2012 Joey Polewardczyk, Jr.
2011 Kyle Busch
2010 Eddie MacDonald
2009 Eddie MacDonald
2008 Kevin Harvick
2007 Roger Brown
2006 Jeremie Whorff
2005 Mike Rowe
2004 Ben Rowe
2003 Ben Rowe
2002 Scott Robbins
2001 Gary Drew
2000 Ralph Nason
1999 Ralph Nason
1998 Ralph Nason
1997 Mike Rowe
1996 Larry Gelinas
1995 Dave Whitlock
1994 Derek Lynch
1993 Junior Hanley
1992 Dave Dion
1991 Ricky Craven
1990 Chuck Bown
1989 Jamie Aube
1988 Dick McCabe
1987 Jamie Aube
1986 Chuck Bown
1985 Dave Dion
1984 Mike Rowe
1983 Tommy Ellis
1982 Mike Berry
1981 Geoff Bodine
1980 Geoff Bodine
1979 Tom Rosati
1978 Bob Pressley
1977 Don Beiderman
1976 Butch Lindley
1975 Dave Dion
1974 Joey Kourafas


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Correspondent

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the 43rd Annual Oxford 250