With 2018 just a couple days away from being over, our resident numbers expert, “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor decided to take a deeper look at the year that just was in another edition of “By the Numbers.”


2: The last two Florida Governor’s Cup 200 winners, Jeff Choquette and Ty Majeski, have done it from the pole. Before that it had not been pulled off since 2008 when Wayne Anderson did it.


2: Casey Roderick became the first driver to win both the Pro Late Model and the Super Late Model track title at Five Flags Speedway in 2018.  The only thing close to this was when Junior Niedecken won 9 of 24 events to win the Late Model title in 1987.  He also won the Limited Late Model title in the same season.


5: Philip Morris made NASCAR history as he picked up his fifth NASCAR Whelen All-American Series title, which tied him with the late Larry Phillips. 2019 could feature a record breaking run.


5:Casey Roderick has five track championships at Five Flags Speedway in Late Model divisions.  Junior Niedekcen has seven, which we believe is the most.


8: Scott Bloomquist won the Dirt Late Model Dream at Eldora Speedway (OH) for the eighth time in his career. His eight wins in 21 starts in this event might be one of the most impressive items on his racing resume.


8: For the eighth straight year Derek Thorn led the SRL Spears Southwest Tour in wins.  He has 36 wins in 78 starts.  He is pushing nearly 50-percent.


9: The Southern Super Series featured yet another new champion making it six faces in six seasons. However, in 2018 a total of nine different drivers won pole awards.  Five of those nine won pole awards for the first time in the series.


10: Donny Schatz took away his 10th World of Outlaw Craftsman Sprint Car Series title.  Now 10 is halfway to Steve Kinser’s record of 20.  Schatz has won 124 races in the last five seasons. 2019 could feature his 300th career win.


14: After winning the track title at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway and the NASCAR State Championship, Steve Carlson pushes his championship total to 14. That’s eight at the track and six state titles.  That does not include 13 other championships in other touring series.


16: All 16 races on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour were won by cars with Chevrolet Bodies according to Racing Reference.  That’s the first time that’s happened in tour history according to the site.


44: With a pair of wins, Jerry Symons won the Florida Modified title at New Smyrna Speedway during the World Series of  Asphalt Stock Car Racing in February.  Symons has the most wins in the series and added his sixth championship.


384: Jeff Choquette led 384 laps between the Winchester 400, the Florida Governor’s Cup 200 and the Snowball Derby.  He won the first two and was third at the Derby.


Now we say bring on 2019! Let’s get this season started.


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Contributor

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: Breaking Down the 2018 Short Track Season