The road to the 51st Annual Snowball Derby continues Saturday night at Five Flags Speedway (FL) with the season finale for the Deep South Crane Blizzard Series.  We take a look at the Deep South Cranes 150 presented by Earnest Performance in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


0: Over the years, the winner of the Blizzard Series finale has never gone on to score a win in the Snowball Derby. It’s almost like the curse of the Sports Illustrated cover.


0: Kyle Busch Motorsports has never won a Blizzard Series race. They have won the Snowball Derby twice with Kyle Busch as a driver, but they have never won one of the shorter races.  They’ll have two shots with Noah Gragson and Raphael Lessard behind the wheel Saturday night.


12: Georgia rules the Blizzard Series. Twelve of the last 14 races have been won by Georgia drivers.


17: Bubba Pollard has 17 career wins in the Blizzard Series at Five Flags Speedway.


20: Bubba Pollard has won 20 Blizzard Series pole awards.


51: Race fans can watch Saturday’s Blizzard Series finale via a live pay-per-view broadcast on Live video tickets can be purchased for $19.99 by clicking here.


57: Donnie Wilson is still waiting for his first Blizzard Series win. The former Southern Super Series champion and All-American 400 winner has been close so many times.  He’s even finished second in the Snowball Derby.


67: The number of laps that Bubba Pollard needs to lead to become the all-time Blizzard Series lap leader.


150: The Blizzard Series finale will be 150 laps.


207: Kyle Plott set fast time during the last Blizzard Series race and led a bunch of laps to become the all-time lap leader amongst drivers who have never won a Blizzard race.  He hopes to change that after recent wins at Watermelon Capital and Orange County (NC).


1395: Augie Grill has led a total of 1395 laps in Blizzard Series races. Considering most Blizzard races are 125 laps, that’s several years of leading races at Five Flags.


West Coast Standout: Derek Thorn will be in the house this year for the Blizzard Series finale. He’s won Pro Late Model races at Five Flags, but he is still seeking his first Super Late Model win.


Chasing History: Casey Roderick could become the first driver to win both the Pro Late Model and Super Late Model track championship in the same year.


Battle Within the Battle: The top 10 in points could decide who makes the Snowball Derby and who goes home. Provisional spots can be awarded back to 10th if the Blizzard Series champion makes the Derby through time trials.


Star Power: The defending Winchester 400 winner (Noah Gragson), All American 400 winner (Donnie Wilson), and Oxford 250 winner (Bubba Pollard) are just some of the drivers who will be racing this weekend at Five Flags.


Blizzard Series All-Time Wins List

Bubba Pollard 17

Augie Grill 9

Chase Elliott 5

Scott Carlson 5

Casey Roderick 4

Eddie Mercer 2

Johanna Long 2

Dave Mader, III 2

Daniel Hemric 2

Jeff Choquette 2

Charlie Bradberry 2

Cale Gale 1

Grant Enfinger 1

Hunter Robbins 1

Justin Drawdy 1

Ryan Crane 1

Josh Hamner 1

Mike Garvey 1

Kyle Benjamin 1

TJ Reaid 1

Kyle Grissom 1


Past Blizzard Champions

2017 Bubbaa Pollard

2016 Casey Roderick

2015 Casey Roderick

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Daniel Hemric

2012 Bubba Pollard

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Johanna Long

2008 Josh Hamner

2007 Scott Carlson

2006 Dave Mader, III

2005 Eddie Mercer


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Blizzard Series Finale at Five Flags