By the Numbers: Battle at Berlin 251

All points of the Super Late Model compass have their biggest regional shows. For the Midwest, the Battle at Berlin 251 is one of them.  The event takes on a new twist in 2019, with both Super Late Models and Pro Late Models from the Champion Racing Association competing in the race.


Before Saturday’s event, here is a By the Numbers preview featuring the history of the race.


2: Johnny VanDoorn is a two-time winner of this race and he’s looking for some magic after winning the Redbud 400 earlier this year.


3: The last time the 251 was run, the Senneker Performance cars swept the top three with Brian Campbell, Bubba Pollard and Terry Senneker, Jr.


3: Bubba Pollard has finished second in the Battle at Berlin 251 three times to three different drivers. In all, he’s been on the podium four times.


5: 2019 Berlin regular Boris Jurkovic could be one to watch as he’s been on fire this year with five wins.


10: A total of 10 cars were on the lead lap at the last Battle at Berlin 251.


18: Hard to imagine, but Brian Campbell has 18 touring series win at Berlin across multiple series and divisions from Pro Late Model to Super Late Model.


18: Of the entries that have been received by Thursday there were 18 drivers hailing from the state of Michigan as the local drivers look to defend their turf this weekend.


22: If you are looking for a sleeper this weekend then how about the 22 of Evan Shotko.  He’s third in points and has been mixing it up with the best this year with several strong runs.  Why not get one in the 251?


70: If you want a little more flavor of local racing, the Modifieds and 4 Cylinders cars will each have twin features.


82: Tom Thomas will be one to watch this year, as he is second in points with three wins this season.


251: The feature event for the Battle at Berlin 251 will be 251 laps, of course.


$20,000: The winner will pocket a cool 20 grand with $1,200 to start the feature.


Past Winners of the Berlin 251


2018 Not Held

2017 Brian Campbell

2016 Erik Jones

2015 Erik Jones

2014 Johnny VanDoorn

2013 Johnny VanDoorn

Below are the Rowdy 251 Races 

2012 Kyle Busch

2011 Kyle Busch

2010 Kyle Busch

2009 Brian Campbell*

*125 laps


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: photo

By the Numbers: Battle at Berlin 251