2: On the Limited Sportsman side Tommy Peregoy is one of the most decorated drivers when it comes to the Limited 100. Peregoy is a former winner who has six top five runs and nine top 10 finishes. He’s third in points and he will be looking for a good finish on Friday.

graphic-jri-pollard-pulliam-davenport-20165: Lee Pulliam will be the one to watch as he goes for a record sixth straight win in this race. Pulliam has a second to go along with his five wins.

5: Another number five is the number of top five runs for Peyton Sellers in the 200. The 2004 and 2005 winner has been 3rd, 4th and 5th in recent years. He will be making his first start since 2014.

6: Bobby McCarty is a former winner in the 100-lap race and now he is a regular contender in the Late Model Stock class at South Boston. Maybe the memory of that special win in 2011 can be repeated on Friday.

8: Josh Oakley in the eight ride will be one driver who will be around at the finish. Looking at his records he’s got six top 10 finishes in the 200-lap race with a third-place finish back in 2010. Chances are he’ll be in the mix at the end of the night.

12: The 12-car of Austin Thaxton has had a fine season and there is no reason to think that he won’t be a contender on Friday.

13: This is the 13th year of the South Boston 200 & Limited Sportsman 100 combo race which is one of the biggest in Late Model racing in the southeast.

23: Danny Willis Jr. is a Late Model Stock Car rookie who is accustomed to running well in the Limited Sportsman race. Willis won the 100-lap race three times. Willis also was second and took home three third-place finishes before he moved up this year.

40: CE Falk in the 40-car may be one to watch as well. He has a win this season and has three podium finishes and five top 10 runs in the 200. Falk was second in 2008 and 2012 and third in 2007. He won one of the South Boston 300 events a few years back.

55: Mart Wertz is third is South Boston points. The 55 machine could be a sleeper as he’s been solid on the track this year with his finishes.

57: Despite the most Late Model Stock wins at South Boston Speedway, the 200 has never landed on the resume of Philip Morris. Morris is back in the limelight after picking up his first win of 2016 last week at Motor Mile Speedway. Now he hopes to cross this LMSC major event off his list.

83: Matt Bowling heads into this weekend leading the South Boston Speedway point standings and he wants a 200-lap win to go along with it. Bowling has won the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown at SoBo, but his best has been second in this event in 2015 and 2013.

100: The Limited Sportsman race is 100 laps and it serves as a solid tune-up on the full card of racing.

200: The Late Model Stock race is 200 laps making it the longest of the year and one of the longest in the country. The Martinsville 300 bears the name of 300 laps, but the feature is normally 200 laps.

$5,000: The winner of the Late Model Stock race gets $5,000, but there’s an additional $3,000 out there in bonus money. No matter what happens it will be the largest payday of the season for the winner.

Past Winners

LMSC 200
2015 Lee Pulliam
2014 Lee Pulliam
2013 Lee Pulliam
2012 Lee Pulliam
2011 Lee Pulliam
2010 Deac McCaskill
2009 Nick Smith
2008 Deac McCaskill
2007 Adam Barker
2006 Drew Herring
2005 Peyton Sellers
2004 Peyton Sellers

Limited 100
2015 Trey Crews
2014 Danny Willis Jr.
2013 Danny Willis Jr.
2012 Blake Stallings
2011 Bobby McCarty
2010 Tommy Peregoy
2009 Brian Pembelton
2008 Wesley Falk
2007 Danny Willis Jr.
2006 Bruce Anderson
2005 Justin Snow
2004 Jonathan Cash

-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Contributor – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: Analyzing the South Boston LMSC 200