The Tri-Track Open Modified Series is back in action for the SBM 125 at New Hampshire’s Star Speedway. The SBM 125 has become one of the most anticipated events in Modified racing, so to get our fans ready for the event we decided to take an in-depth look in today’s By the Numbers:


0: Despite no wins in the series, Anthony Nocella has to be on hot watch after he posted three top-five runs in 2017 in the series.  Nocella went on to win the championship in the Modified Racing Series with five wins.  A win at Star would be one of the biggest of his career.


06: Les Hinckley, III in the 06 ride has three runner-up finishes in this event.  He was second in 2013, 2014, and 2015.


4: Matt Hirschman swept all four Tri-Track Open Modified Series events in 2017. In all he has four wins in the SBM 125 at Star Speedway.


25: The 25 ride of Rowan Pennink has three top 10 runs in his last three starts at the SBM 125.  In 2017, he scored his best finish a second-place run to Matt Hirschman.


32: Last year the SBM 125 had 32 cars trying to make the field.


43: Former MRS standout Kirk Alexander had two of his many wins take place at Star Speedway. Now he looks for more success in the SBM 125.


50: Looking to improve on fourth two-years ago, Ronnie Silk is back to chase the win at Star.


70: He’s run all six prior races and Andy Seuss is looking forward to coming home to race.  Hopefully luck will be on his side as his best run was fourth back in 2011.


125: The race will be 125 laps.


2011: In the year 2011 the race was run for the first time with Jon McKennedy winning the show.  He and Matt Hirschman are the only two drivers who have won the SBM 125 at Star.


2015: The SBM 125 was not held in 2015


Past Winners of the SBM 125

2017 Matt Hirschman

2016 Matt Hirschman

2015 Not Held

2014 Jon McKennedy

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Jon McKennedy


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: An In-Depth Look at the SBM 125 at Star Speedway