The Montana 200 is one of the biggest Super Late Model races west of the Mississippi River of the year. It always brings out the toughest competition in the Northwest and produces fantastic racing. We wanted to explore an in-depth look at the Montana 200 in this edition of “By the Numbers.”


3:  After three starts in the Montana 200, Tayler Riddle is ready to pocket a victory.  After checking off the Summer Showdown and the Chilly Willy, it’s only time for a win in big sky country.  His best was a third-place run.


300x250 Summer Thunder 2017.07.13 (Busch)4: Gary Lewis is the only four-time Montana 200 winner.  He won the race in four consecutive years.


9pm: The main event rolls off at 9pm. Hopefully you are in your seat or watching the Trackside Now coverage.


11: Shane Mitchell gets ready to make his 11th start in the Montana 200. He is a former winner and has five top 10’s and three top five runs in the Montana 200.


24: Jeremy Doss took the lead with 24-laps to go and he would go on to win the 2016 Montana 200.


27: This will be the 27th running of the Montana 200.  The first race was run back in 1991.


30: Early reports are showing close to 30 or more cars will be entered for the race.


64: The famous car number that Garrett Evans used to win the 2014 edition of the Montana 200. It’s a number that northwest race fans know well. Now at the age of 60, Evans seeks another big win.  The former four-time NASCAR Northwest Champion has been first and second in his last three starts at the 200.


200: The historic northwest race is 200-laps long for the Super Late Models.


361: Owen Riddle won the Montana 200 in 2015 after leading all 200 laps.  He has led 361 total laps in the last three Montana 200’s. The only downside is he hasn’t made it past halfway but once.


1995: Mark Owens won the race in 1995. Since 2001 he has a total of five top five finishes and seven top 10 finishes in 11 known starts.  Some history of the race, like full results are unavailable.  If you have information please email us.


$15,000: Is the first-place prize for the Montana 200.  The race also pays $1,000 to start.


Montana 200 Winners:

2016  Jeremy Doss

2015  Owen Riddle

2014  Garrett Evans

2013  Jonathon Gomez

2012  Jeff Jefferson

2011  Shane Mitchell

2010  Gary Lewis

2009  Gary Lewis

2008  Gary Lewis

2007  Gary Lewis

2006  Jeff Jefferson

2005  BJ TIdrick

2004  Christian Roeder

2003  Kenny Kaltschmidt

2002  Tom Sweatman

2001  Ron Dexter

2000  Tom Sweatman

1999  Troy Conrad

1998  Tim Elliott

1997  Tom Sweatman

1996  Marc Groskreutz

1995  Mark Owens

1994  Cory Wolfe

1993  Marc Groskreutz

1992  Bob Schweigert

1991  Lance Wade


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit: photo

By the Numbers: An In-Depth Look at the Montana 200