Super Late Models will be racing in the desert this weekend as the Chilly Willy 150 gets underway at Tucson Speedway (AZ). We get you ready for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


2 – Chris Eggleston finished second in inaugural Chilly Willy back in 2014.  He then won the Turkey Shoot 125 last November at Tucson.


4 – The race itself will be a four-tire event.  There will be no brakes or halfway stops.


5 – Five former Tucson Super Late Model track champions are entered. That list includes Brandon Schilling, Chuck Wares, Ron Norman, Paul Banghart and Brandon Farrington.


7 – Ron Eaton will continue to be the ageless wonder as he suits up for another season and what he hopes to be his second Chilly Willy 150 start.


300x250 Tucson Speedway 2018.01.27 Chilly Willy11 – Ten states and one province are represented among those entered in this year’s running of the Chilly Willy 150.


14 – Fourteen drivers entered are looking to make their Chilly Willy 150 debut.


24 – Track veteran Ron Searle, Jr. climbed from 25th to first in last year’s race before being sidelined with an oil leak. That’s 24 spots that he picked up on the race track, showing the track is very racy.


50 – There will be a pair of 50-lap Late Model races on Thursday night for those who want to take part in the extra event. Each race will pay $1,200 to win.


51 – Sean Bray turned some heads last fall at Tucson when he scored an upset victory in the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series race at the track. Look back at the story had on him earlier in the week.


66 – In just a few short years, the history of this event has included no repeat winners.  Sixty-six different drivers have competed in the main event.


80 – The racing tire compound with be the Hoosier F-80’s for this race.  The event will be a four-tire show with tires only being changed if they’re deemed to be flat.


150 – The main event will be 150 laps.


$10,000 – The Chilly Willy is a big money show with lots of Southwest and Northwest star power. The winner will walk away with $10,000.


The Right People – Noah Gragson will be driving for inaugural Chilly Willy winner Dustin Ash (2014).


The West Ringer – Preston Peltier picked up wins at the Colorado Cup and the Summer Showdown at Evergreen Speedway (WA).  There is no reason to believe the California native won’t be a favorite to win the Chilly Willy this weekend.


Former Chilly Willy 150 Winners:

2017 – Owen Riddle

2016 – Chuck Wares

2015 – Tayler Riddle

2014 – Dustin Ash


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: An In-Depth Look at the Chilly Willy 150