The All American 400 is one of the biggest and most historic short track races there is. With that in mind, we decided to crunch some numbers to take a deeper look at this year’s running of the All American 400 at the Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville in Tennessee.


3: Jeff Purvis holds the record for the most wins in the All American 400.  Purvis won in 1991, 1992 and 1995.  There has not been a repeat winner since Eddie Hoffman, who won the Pro Late Model portion in 2006.


3: There are three former winners in the field for this year’s race.  Donnie Wilson, Bubba Pollard and Johnny VanDoorn.


7: Last year’s race featured seven cautions for 78 laps.


8: Butch Miller is the all-time leader in top-five runs at the All American 400.  He has eight total top fives in 10 starts. He has two wins, a second, and a third.


11: Johnny Brazier is slated to make his 11th start in the All American 400.  that leads all active drivers. He has four top 10 finishes.


40: According to the track’s website, 40 Pro Late Models will be on the grounds this weekend.


99: Donnie Wilson led 99 laps on his way to victory in the All American 400 in 2017.  He’s led some laps and run well the last few weeks.


100: There will be a 100-lap Pro Late Model race run on Sunday as well.


100%: Johnny VanDoorn has run five prior All American 400’s and he’s finished all in the top 10 and completed 100% of the laps run.  He’s raced at distances of 200, 300 and 400.


400: The All American 400 is the longest Short Track race in America.  The event is held at the Nashville Fairgrounds which is longer than the average half-mile tracks.  Drivers will race for 238.4 miles.


700: Stephen Nasse is the only driver to complete all the laps at Mobile and at the Winchester 400.  Chandler Smith completed 699 and Donnie Wilson 698.


1100: Bubba Pollard has completed all 1,100 laps in the last three All American 400’s.


$22,500: The winner will pocket $22,500 for the victory in the All American 400.


Bad Luck? The last time the All American 400 winner went on to win the Snowball Derby?  John Hunter Nemechek in 2014, prior to that it was 1995 when Jeff Purvis did the double.


Just Like Dad? Steve Wallace is looking to tame the Nashville high banks like his dad did in the 1985 All American 400.


Another Major?  Will we see a repeat 400 winner?  Will major winners from this year Bubba Pollard (Oxford 250), Raphael Lessard (Redbud 400), Stephen Nasse (Mobile 300) pull off the All American 400 win?


All American 400 Past Winners

2017 Donnie Wilson

2016 Bubba Pollard

2015 Daniel Hemric

2014 John Hunter Nemechek

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Ross Kenneth

2010 TJ Reaid

2010 Dillon Olliver

2008 Brian Campbell

2008 Chris Gabehart

2007 Johnny VanDoorn

2007 Eddie Hoffman

2006 Boris Jurkovic

2006 Eddie Hoffman

2005 Jason Hogan

2004 Chuck Barnes Jr.

2003 Brian Hoppe

2000 Mike Garvey

1999 Wayne Anderson

1998 Freddie Query

1997 Freddie Query

1996 Wayne Anderson

1995 Jeff Purvis

1994 Bobby Gill

1993 Mike Garvey

1992 Jeff Purvis

1991 Jeff Purvis

1990 Gary St. Amant

1989 Butch Miller

1988 Butch Miller

1987 Darrell Waltrip

1986 Gary Balough

1985 Rusty Wallace

1984 Gary Balough

1983 Jim Sauter

1982 Bob Senneker

1981 Butch Lindley

-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: An In-Depth Look at the All American 400