The Easter Bunny 150 has long been an important race to short track racing fans in the Southeast. The race returns this weekend, so we decided to take an in-depth look at the event in today’s By the Numbers.


2: Two-time and defending PASS South champion Matt Craig has been the man to beat in the south the last few years, however his track record at Hickory has not been that stellar on the circuit.  Craig has no PASS wins at Hickory, but he does have a second and third-place finish.


4: Preston Peltier is the only four-time winner of the Easter Bunny 150.


6: Because of his success Preston Peltier leads all drivers with six podium finishes in the Easter Bunny 150.


10: Remember the top 10 re-draw for starting spots which throws in a wild card for the front runners.


12: Ben Rowe has made 12 starts in the Easter Bunny having run every one since the first.  Rowe has two wins in 2009 and 2016 and a total of six top five finishes in the Easter Bunny.


13: This will be the 13th running of the Easter Bunny 150.


26: Bubba Pollard, the standout from the deep south, will head to the Easter Bunny 150 seeking a big win.  Pollard has not run many laps at the flat Hickory oval, but he did run strong at an event there last year with the CARS Tour.


33-plus: By our count there are at least 33 cars expected to be on the grounds at Hickory on Saturday. If the list balloons anymore then a last chance race will likely be needed.


150: The main event will be 150 laps.


2006:  The PASS South Series got it’s start at Hickory Motor Speedway in 2006 in the first Easter Bunny 150.  On that day Maine veteran Mike Rowe snuck past Chuck Barnes Jr. to score that win.


Two for the Price of One: The Southern Modified Racing Series will be on hand to race with the Super Late Models this weekend as well.  At this point we don’t think anyone will be doing double duty, but hey we can always be wrong.


Respect: We have to give props to the Pro All Stars Series for what they have made the Easter Bunny 150.  It’s a marquee event and it’s at a track where any engine combination can work to be competitive.  It’s a big showdown for the north vs. south aspect and its history is making more popular each year.


Past Easter Bunny 150 Winners

2017 Preston Peltier

2016 Ben Rowe

2015 Preston Peltier

2014 DJ Shaw

2013 Preston Peltier

2012 Kyle Grissom

2011 Stephen Nasse

2010 Preston Peltier

2009 Ben Rowe

2008 Corey Williams

2007 Ryan Lawler

2006 Mike Rowe


Past PASS Winners at Hickory

Preston Peltier 7

Ben Rowe 3

Ryan Lawyer 2

Brandon Setzer 2

Stephen Nasse 1

Chris Dilbeck 1

Tate Fogleman 1

Tyler Church 1

DJ Shaw 1

Kyle Grissom 1

Justin Wakefield 1

Heath Hindman 1

Corey Williams 1

Mike Rowe 1

Chase Elliott 1


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: An In-Depth Look at the 13th Easter Bunny 150