We’re officially five months into the 2018 short track racing season.  A lot has happened and there is still a lot to come.  In this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.com, we take a look at some of the interesting numbers from the first five months of the season.


0.000 – The official margin of victory during the ARCA Racing Series General Tire 200 at Talladega. Zane Smith was awarded the victory over Joe Graf, Jr. via a photo finish.  ARCA officials have stated it’s the closest finish in the modern era of ARCA.


2 – The number of first-time ARCA Midwest Tour winners in three races so far in 2018.  Austin Nason and Paul Shafer, Jr. each scored their first tour victories recently.


3 – Chandler Smith made ARCA Racing Series history by winning the pole award in his first three series starts.


http://speed51.com/join-today/5 – Curtis Gerry has won five of his last six starts with the Pro All Stars Series dating back to his 2017 Oxford 250 victory.  Four of those wins have come at Oxford Plains Speedway (ME), and the other was at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME).  Prior to his current streak, he had run over 60 races in the series and only cracked the top five a few times.


5 – The number of tracks that Stewart Friesen has won at already in 2018.  He’s scored Dirt Modified wins at Fonda (NY), Georgetown (DE), Grandview (PA), Orange County (NY) and Weedsport (NY).  Overall, Friesen has six wins this season while also traveling the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series circuit and competing in select asphalt Super Late Model races.


6 of 8: Brian Campbell is now six of eight in JEGS / CRA All-Stars Tour starts. Campbell has won every race he has finished, while his two losing efforts came at Illiana in 2012 (suspension issues) and Lebanon I-44 Speedway in 2017 (crash).  The only driver who has more wins in the series is NASCAR XFNITY Series driver Daniel Hemric, who has eight wins in 15 starts.


9: Burt Myers won his ninth career opening night feature at Bowman Gray Stadium (NC) earlier this year.  Myers started on the front row with 10-time track champion Tim Brown.  Between the two of them, they have 19 track championships in the featured Modified division at BGS.


12: During the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway, the Pro Late Models made it a 12th straight year with no repeat champion.  We will wait to see if the streak continues in 2019.


15: In 15 Speed51.com Short Track Drafts, no driver has been selected number one more then once.  Harrison Burton took the top honors in this year’s Short Track Draft presented by PFC Brakes.


16: Bubba Pollard won in the Blizzard Series for the 16th time in his career.  No one else has double digit wins in the Super Late Model series at Five Flags Speedway (FL). Overall, the win was Pollard’s 21st Late Model win at Five Flags including two Snowflake 100’s.


17: The Super Late Models run their count to 17 straight seasons with no repeat champions during the World Series at New Smyrna.  Each February the racing has been some of the best in the country.


65: Philip Morris swept the opening night to push his career win total to 65 at South Boston Speedway.  He won 20 times last year and perhaps he’s on his way to another big win total.


70: The Little 500 just ran it’s 70th version of the race at Anderson Speedway (IN) on Indianapolis 500 weekend.  Not many races can say that they have been running for 50 plus years, let alone 70.


75: Jeremy Doss, the driver of the No. 75 Super Late Model, has established himself as a favorite to win the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series championship after winning two of the first three races.


260: With five series wins to his credit, Jonathan Davenport currently leads the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points by 260 markers over Scott Bloomquist.


30,000: The amount of dollars that Scott Bloomquist collected for winning his sixth career Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway (MO).


Philip to Phillip:  Philip Morris is a four-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion.  This year he leads the points early as he looks to tie the late Larry Phillips with a record five titles.


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com Photo

By the Numbers: An Early Look at the 2018 Season