By the Numbers: Allen Turner Snowflake 100

Snowball Derby’s eve is headlined by the biggest race of the year for Pro Late Model competitors, the Allen Turner Snowflake 100.  Before Saturday night’s big 100-lap race, we look at the history of the event with our “By the Numbers” preview.




2: Derek Thorn is looking to become the first driver since Chase Elliott to win back-to-back Snowflake 100s.  Elliott did it in 2012 and 2013.  At the time, the 2013 victory marked his third win in four years. Thorn just might do it after he won the pole for the second-straight year for the Snowball Derby.


2: Fury Race Cars have won the last two Snowflake 100s and hope to rival the GARC dominance that won six straight a few years back.


3: Only three times since 2003 has the pole sitter won the race.  Evan Jackson did it in 2003, Chase Elliott in 2013 and Bubba Pollard in 2017.


10: A total of 10 guys were on the entry list for both the Snowball Derby and the Snowflake 100.  No driver has won both in the same year, and making both races in the same year can be hard enough.


10: Johanna Long-Robbins will be making her 10th start in the Snowflake 100. The former Snowball Derby winner has three top 10s in the event, but she is still looking for her first top-five run.


14: Bubba Pollard will be making his 14th start in the Snowflake 100.  He has two wins and five top-five finishes. He is also a two-time pole sitter.


71: In the height of the Pro Late Model craze, 71 cars took time in qualifying for the Snowflake in 2008. That was also the last year that the pole speed was over 17 seconds.


100: The Pro Late Models only go 100 laps.  The origin of the Saturday night race goes back into the 1980s where it was a short 30-lap race for non-Derby cars.  It since grew to 100 laps for local Super Late Models who did not run Sunday. Then, it was switched to Pro Late Models in 2003.


474: Despite not racing this year, Augie Grill will hold onto the Pro Late Model record for most laps led in the Snowflake in his career. In all, Grill has led eight races for a total of 474 laps.  That’s almost five full races’ worth of laps.  Grill will have Derby Truck winner Grant Thompson in his mount this weekend.


Credit is Due:  We have to give credit to Elliott Massey, who has run five Snowflake races in the past.  He also keeps coming back after some years where he did not qualify for the race.  In all, this will be his 12th run at the Snowflake.


Yellow Stripes: By our count 20 rookies are trying to make the first Allen Turner Snowflake 100.


Past Snowflake 100 Winners

2019 Derek Thorn

2018 Chase Purdy

2017 Bubba Pollard

2016 Augie Grill

2015 John Hunter Nemechek

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Chase Elliott

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Brandon Carlson

2007 Ryan Crane

2006 Matt Hawkins

2005 Hunter Robbins

2004 David Hole

2003 Evan Jackson

2002 Scott Carlson

2001 Stanley Smith

2000 Donald Long

1999 Gary St. Amant


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Stat Boy

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Allen Turner Snowflake 100