By the Numbers: Allen Turner Pro Late Models at Five Flags

Friday night, the Allen Turner Hyundai Pro Late Models take on Five Flags Speedway for the first time in 2019, beginning the journey to the Snowflake 100 on Saturday, December 7.  Race fans unable to make it to the half-mile speed plant in Pensacola, Florida can watch tonight’s event with a Premium Subscription to the Speed51 Video Network.  Click here to subscribe now and watch the event.


To preview the season of Pro Late Model racing ahead at Five Flags Speedway, let’s take a look ‘By The Numbers’ at the division.


3: Casey Roderick is looking to become the first driver to win three track titles in a row since Junior Niedecken accomplished the feat in the 70’s.


5: With a total of five championships on his resume, Casey Roderick is chasing some big history as Junior Niedekcen is the all-time leader with seven championships between various Late Model formats.


5: There will be five races for the Pro Late Models this year at Five Flags Speedway.  All races are 100 laps leading up to the prestigious Snowflake 100 in December.


5: Here’s a little history lesson. Pensacola, Florida is the city of Five Flags because of those who have ruled over the coastal Florida town: Spain, France, Britain, the Confederacy and the United States.  We did mention this last month, but we want to make sure everyone is aware.


10: The top 10 in points can become very important leading up to the Snowflake 100.  Those drivers who finish in the top 10 become eligible for a Snowflake provisional should they not make the race on time.  Only two will get spots, so a little bit of luck will be needed for some drivers along the way.


13: The Modifieds of Mayhem will draw some national focus as Kyle Purvis, driver of the No. 13 Modified, will drive south to race a Modified before heading back to Flat Rock Speedway for a race on Sunday.


51: is the home for live video coverage of every lap of Pro Late Model action at Five Flags Speedway (FL) this season.


81: While some attention is on the defending track champion, others will be keeping an eye on the No. 81 ride piloted by Colby Howard, who won at Montgomery Motor Speedway earlier this month.  Driving for Anthony Campi Racing, Howard will return to the track where ACR won the Snowflake 100 last December with Chase Purdy.


100: All Pro Late Model races at Five Flags will be 100 laps. This includes the Snowflake 100 and the Allen Turner Tune-up.


2019 Pro Late Model Schedule 

April 26 – Allen Turner Hyundai 100

June 7 –  Allen Turner Pro Late Model 100

August 16 – Allen Turner 100

September 21 – 12th Annual Allen Turner Tune-up 100

December 7 – Allen Turner Snowflake 100


Five Flags Speedway Pro Late Model Track Champions 

2018 Casey Roderick

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 Bret Holmes

2015 Ryan Luza

2014 Johanna Long

2013 Garrett Jones

2012 Mike Garvey

2011 DJ VanderLey

2010 DJ VanderLey

2009 Ronnie Smith

2008 Johanna Long

2007 Sammy McMullen

2006 Steve Davis

2005 Brandon Carlson

*Prior to 2005 the top weekly class was Super Late Models 

2004 Eddie Mercer

2003 Bubba Naumann

2002 Donald Long

2001 Donald Long

2000 Not Awarded

1999 Not Awarded

1998 Track Closed

1997 Timothy Bryant

1996 Tracy Goodson

1995 Ricky Brooks

1994 Ricky Brooks

1993 Junior Niedecken

1992 Doug Thorpe Jr.

1991 Jamie Prell

1990 Gerald Wilkerson

1989 Bubba Gale

1988 Gerald Wilkerson

1987 Junior Niedecken

1986 Jay Smith

1985 Bubba Gale

1984 Rick Crawford

1983 Roger Keller

1982 Ronnie Sanders

1981 Rick Crawford

1980 Junior Niedecken

1979 Red Farmer

1978 Junior Niedecken

1977  Junior Niedecken

1976 Junior Niedecken

1975 Stewart England


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit: photo

By the Numbers: Allen Turner Pro Late Models at Five Flags