The 44th Annual Oxford 250 has come and gone.  Sixty-five Super Late Models, nearly 500 campers and thousands of short track racing fans helped make the event a special one. It’s time to now take a look back at the historic race in this edition of “by the numbers.”


2: Reid Lanpher now has two runner-up finishes in the last three Oxford 250s.


6: A total of six former winners finished inside the top 17 on Sunday.


300x250 PASS South 2017.11.18 Mega Meltdown6: Cassius Clark logged his sixth straight top-10 finish and sixth-straight year of finishing every lap.  His third-place run was a career best with a race high 123 laps led.


7: Seventh-place finisher Derek Ramstrom tied his best finish of seventh from 2014.


9: Scott McDaniel led laps and finished ninth after being a DNQ last season.


10: Score back-to-back top 10 finishes for Garrett Hall who locked himself into the show after winning the Granit State Pro Stock Series race on Saturday night.


17: The race was slowed by 17 yellow flags.


21: Total number of cars that went home including former 250 winners Jeremie Whorff and Gary Drew, multi-time track champion Jeff Taylor, and former PASS winners Scott Mulkern and Kelly Moore.


25: A total of 25 cars finished on the lead lap.


31: The 250 was the 31st career race for the Pro All Stars Series at OPS.


35: In his 35 Oxford 250 starts, veteran Mike Rowe scored his 11th top-five finish in the 250. He did so after starting the race in the 41st position.


44: With 44 cars taking the green flag this was the largest field since 2014, but still shy of the record of 46 in 1999.


65: A total of 65 cars tried their hands in the qualifying racing with only 44 making the 250.


100: With Curtis Gerry’s win he becomes the 100th different driver to win a PASS-sanctioned race counting North, South and National tour events.  The series’ first race was back in 2001.


102: Gerry led a total of 102 laps to add to his pay of $25,000.


$17,300: The check that Cassius Clark will receive after leading a race-high 123 laps and finishing third.


$35,200: The winner’s share for Curtis Gerry.  This was the highest payday for a race winner since 2012.


All About the 7:  Eight of the last nine Oxford 250s have been won by a driver with a seven in their number. Eddie MacDonald took the 17 to victory lane twice, Joey Pole had the 97 before Travis Benjamin had a pair with the 17.  Glen Luce had a seven, Wayne Helliwell Jr. had a 27 and Curtis Gerry rode the 7G to victory lane. Kyle Busch in 2011, driving the No. 51, was the only driver to not have a seven in his number and win the race over the last nine years.


Beyond that, a seven has been a part of 250 wins in 2002 with Scott Robbins, 2001 with Gary Drew, 1996 with Larry Gelinas, 1993 with Junior Hanley and 1979 with Tom Rosati.  In all, 13 races have been won with a seven in the number.


Points: Sometimes the 250 has a major shakeup in the points, but this time Glen Luce should have overtaken Travis Benjamin as they will be separated by three points, unofficially.


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Numbers: Looking Back at the 44th Oxford 250