0: The number of times the Snowflake 100 winner has gone on to win the Snowball Derby. That trend will continue this year, as Snowball Derby winner Noah Gragson is not entered for the Snowflake 100.


2: Justin South is a two-time pole winner in the Snowflake 100. His best finish was a third in 2013.


3: Augie Grill is a three-time winner of the Snowflake 100 as is Chase Elliott, who is not racing this year. Those two could welcome Bubba Pollard to the three-time club if he wins the Snowflake again.


7: Grand American Race Cars have won seven of the last nine Snowflake 100’s. Six of those have come from Augie Grill and Chase Elliott, with the other coming from Bubba Pollard.


16: By our count, 16 drivers were originally planning to run both the Snowflake and the Snowball Derby. Due to Mother Nature, that number is expected to decrease but we still expect a strong contingent of double-duty drivers.


16: The number of Snowflake rookies who were listed on the pre-race entry list.


16.259: Augie Grill holds the race’s qualifying record with a lap of 16.259. Grill has eight starts inside the 10 in this race.


30: Just like the Snowball Derby, the top 30 drivers will make this race on time and the rest from the last chance race then provisionals.


100: This race is an all out 100-lap sprint. Drivers have to pace themselves to have tires at the end.


423: A total of 423 drivers have run the Snowflake 100.


History Lesson: The first official Snowflake race was run in 1999 and it was won by Gary St. Amant. That race was not held on Derby weekend as it was an October race and it was 200 laps.


History Lesson II: The first Pro Late Model Snowflake 100 was 2005. By 2008 some 71 cars took time for the 100 lapper that year.


History Lesson III: The birth of the Snowflake type race dates way back to 1983 when Rick Crawford won a 30-lap race on Saturday before the Snowball Derby. The race shifted to 50 laps and then 100.


Past Snowflake 100 Winners

2017 Bubba Pollard
2016 Augie Grill
2015 John Hunter Nemechek
2014 Bubba Pollard
2013 Chase Elliott
2012 Chase Elliott
2011 Augie Grill
2010 Chase Elliott
2009 Augie Grill
2008 Brandon Carlson
2007 Ryan Crane
2006 Matt Hawkins
2005 Hunter Robbins
2004 David Hole
2003 Evan Jackson
2002 Scott Carlson
2001 Stanley Smith
2000 Donald Long
1999 Gary St. Amant


Former Snowflake Pole winners

2017 Bubba Pollard
2016 John Hunter Nemechek
2015 Justin South
2014 Augie Grill
2013 Chase Elliott
2012 Justin South
2011 Bubba Pollard
2010 Hunter Robbins
2009 TJ Reaid
2008 Jason Young
2007 DJ VanderLey
2006 Korey Ruble


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: A Look at the Snowflake 100